Skip to main content

The Rose Society by Marie Lu- 4 Stars

For Blurb: The Rose Society

I cannot being to describe how stressful this read was! Marie Lu's writing was, as it always is: perfection. It is so easy to get completely lost in the worlds she creates. For the first third of the book I was certain this was going to be even better than the first book. 
But... as the story progressed a few predictable things happened and Adelina lost some of the edge I loved about her in the first book. It is only on the last two pages that she gains that dark edge again. 

Adelina is a villain. Pure and simple. Are there reasons for it? Sure thing. But all villains have their reasons... her reasons just happened to touch our hearts a little more than most. I loved how the first book showed her progress from a hurt abused kid to a villain seeking revenge. Even though she tried to get close to the Daggers in the first book, it didn't end well. It all worked towards Adelina having a dark soul and a very single minded goal- revenge revenge revenge. 
In this book Adelina is somehow less of what she was in the end of The Young Elites. There is a battle within her between light and darkness. Granted, there was some of that in the Young Elites too, but here it got a tad repetitive and boring. 
I still love our little White Wolf very much! But I love the little White Wolf she was every time she killed, every time she was truly herself. I loved the little White Wolf she was in the beginning and in the end of the book. The conflicted Adelina over Enzo? that one bored me to death. 

The Daggers were not interesting. We didn't get to know them well in the first book and you won't here either. Rafaelle is interesting, but not exciting. I do not trust him.

None of the deaths were shockers. I suppose one of them was intended to be because Marie Lu tried to portray that person as someone Adelina saw as a friend, but I genuinely don't feel like they were ever friends. The one or two scenes they had together on the first book was not enough to make me care about it.

The Roses were not my favorite either. That being said, I did like Magiano. That boy is gold. A thief that most certainly cannot be trusted, and the opposite of Adelina... Our little Magiano is nothing but light and joy. 

Teren is INSANE. I freaking loved reading the guy. Very entertaining. 

I am hoping that in the next book we finally get to see Adelina for who she is- darkness. That is not to say she is evil, but it will be nice to see her stop fighting the darkness and just be. It will also be nice to see what role Magiano has to play, because if anyone can fight the darkness in Adelina, it is him.

MILD SPOILERS:

Now, if that had been the book, it would have received the same scoring as The young Elites- 4.75.:Not perfect, but darn good.
BUT- Enzo!? wtf?! Could that be any more predictable? I hated that I knew it would happen and I hated when it did eventually happen. 
AND it turned my little villain into a mushy full of feelings idiot. Could have done without that. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b