Skip to main content

The Rose Society by Marie Lu- 4 Stars

For Blurb: The Rose Society

I cannot being to describe how stressful this read was! Marie Lu's writing was, as it always is: perfection. It is so easy to get completely lost in the worlds she creates. For the first third of the book I was certain this was going to be even better than the first book. 
But... as the story progressed a few predictable things happened and Adelina lost some of the edge I loved about her in the first book. It is only on the last two pages that she gains that dark edge again. 

Adelina is a villain. Pure and simple. Are there reasons for it? Sure thing. But all villains have their reasons... her reasons just happened to touch our hearts a little more than most. I loved how the first book showed her progress from a hurt abused kid to a villain seeking revenge. Even though she tried to get close to the Daggers in the first book, it didn't end well. It all worked towards Adelina having a dark soul and a very single minded goal- revenge revenge revenge. 
In this book Adelina is somehow less of what she was in the end of The Young Elites. There is a battle within her between light and darkness. Granted, there was some of that in the Young Elites too, but here it got a tad repetitive and boring. 
I still love our little White Wolf very much! But I love the little White Wolf she was every time she killed, every time she was truly herself. I loved the little White Wolf she was in the beginning and in the end of the book. The conflicted Adelina over Enzo? that one bored me to death. 

The Daggers were not interesting. We didn't get to know them well in the first book and you won't here either. Rafaelle is interesting, but not exciting. I do not trust him.

None of the deaths were shockers. I suppose one of them was intended to be because Marie Lu tried to portray that person as someone Adelina saw as a friend, but I genuinely don't feel like they were ever friends. The one or two scenes they had together on the first book was not enough to make me care about it.

The Roses were not my favorite either. That being said, I did like Magiano. That boy is gold. A thief that most certainly cannot be trusted, and the opposite of Adelina... Our little Magiano is nothing but light and joy. 

Teren is INSANE. I freaking loved reading the guy. Very entertaining. 

I am hoping that in the next book we finally get to see Adelina for who she is- darkness. That is not to say she is evil, but it will be nice to see her stop fighting the darkness and just be. It will also be nice to see what role Magiano has to play, because if anyone can fight the darkness in Adelina, it is him.

MILD SPOILERS:

Now, if that had been the book, it would have received the same scoring as The young Elites- 4.75.:Not perfect, but darn good.
BUT- Enzo!? wtf?! Could that be any more predictable? I hated that I knew it would happen and I hated when it did eventually happen. 
AND it turned my little villain into a mushy full of feelings idiot. Could have done without that. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.