Skip to main content

Loving Bad and Surviving Slater by Regan Ure - 4/5 and 3.5/5

Loving Bad 4/5

Blurb: 
The good girl falls for the bad boy.

But what if there is more to Sin Carter then a bad attitude, tattoos and piercings.

And what if there is more to the Taylor Price then the fact she has always followed the rules and done what she was told.

Their pasts haunt them. Sin is trying to break free from his dark past while Taylor lives each day trying to forget about the horrors that marred her childhood

When they meet their physical attraction is undeniable. One night is not
enough for both of them.


This was a sweet read!
It brings together two very different characters. Taylor had lived a very sheltered life. She is a grown woman attending college but has never gone to party, drunk, kissed a boy...
Sin is the exact opposite, he had a rough childhood and has done everything and a little more.
Although they are two completely different characters they have one thing in common: neither one of them wants the past to define them. So when they get together their 'relationship' lacks all the fundamentals necessary for two people to trust each other. Not wanting to be defined by the wrongs and tragedies of their past they don't open up to each other and the lack of communication and trust makes things rather difficult.
This was a quick read, the plot wasn't full of twists and turns and although we learnt what happened in their past it is not necessarily enough to create a well rounded picture of them, hence although I thought the story was sweet I can't really give it more than four stars.

Surviving Slater 3.5/5


Blurb:
Jordan Ross is not a good girl. Growing up with a dark secret has toughened her up. She doesn't trust easily.

Slater Graves is a bad boy living day to day. Haunted by a childhood event, he is stuck in a hellish limbo, unable to move forward.

When they meet, their attraction is intense and irresistible. Impossible to fight. But for their own survival they need to keep their emotions out of it. Can they survive each other, with their hearts intact?
 


I loved how it started! It brought together what we already knew about the new characters from Loving Bad and it therefore made the characters immediately relatable.
The book starts when Taylor was in the hospital and it continues to show the remainder of Loving Bad through Jordan's eyes while at the same time giving us an inside into how Jordan herself feels and the problems she has going on in her life. The first chapters were no shadow of doubt the best chapters between the two books.
Why only 3.5 stars then you ask? well, once Taylor is out of the hospital and moves in with Sin Surviving Slater focus solely on Jordan and Slater, as it should. But their story is only interesting during the first and last pages. All the stuff in between is rather repetitive. They get together, they break up; they get together, they break up; they get together, they break up... on and on the cycle goes. Neither wants to get emotional involved, both clearly already are. There were therefore a few too many boring chapters. I still would recommend you read it though, specially if you loved Loving Bad!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation