Skip to main content

The Young Elites by Marie Lu- 4.75/5 stars

The Young Elites was a trilogy I put higher on my tbr list due to the hype on my bookstagram circle, and I am glad that I did. This was certainly a worthy read!

The Blurb:
I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all. 

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen. 

Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.

It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu is one of my favorite reads, so I very was excited going into this. I am so so glad it did not disappoint. 

I absolutely loved the main character Adelina, and as she turns darker and darker I have the feeling I am going to love her even more in the next books (yes, I am a bit strange like that! hehe)
This girl has been through hell and back. She spend her whole life being abused by her father feeling unloved and worthless. Although she did not grow up with some strange ability the physical markings she bares are enough to give her a rather difficult life. People hate her, call her an abomination... 
It is not until she tries to run away, is captured and then ends up with the Daggers that she starts to believe in herself, in the power she has in her. The only problem is, the power she has is dark, it's dangerous, and through out the book it causes her to be stronger but it also causes her pain. She is not the hero in this story, and she is not the villain either. She is human. She is greedy and wicked as well as lovely and kind.

Teren is a rather interesting character. He is a villain, but isn't at the same time. People come out of traumatic events differently, and so did he. But his past is not mine to share here and spoil it all for you. I am looking forward to learning more about him and seeing where the author takes him.

This might sound a little strange to you, but as of now, both these characters remind me a little of the Darkling. It may all change in the next book... but for now... 

The next main character worthy of our time and mention is Enzo, the leader of the Daggers. He is the hero in our story, even if things don't end as expected (which in my opinion made the book all the better. Who is tired of predictable tales with me?). Enzo is not a saint, he can't kill as easily as one breaths, but he is noble and powerful, his moves are never without reason.
His romance with Adelina is cryptic, he appears to care for her, but he also appears to be using her. 

All in all a great read! My only reasoning to not giving it 5 stars is that some characters felt a little underdeveloped, specially our boy Enzo. We get a few lines towards the end on his past with Teren but never a look into who he is apart from the titles he bears. 

Anyway folks, I gotta go read The Rose Society now! see yah 😊


Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.