Skip to main content

Chaser (Dive Bar #3) by Kylie Scott- 5 Stars [arc review]


This was so SWEET. I was not expecting that on a book on immature and self-absorbed Eric! 🤣
And so this was slightly different than I was expecting...in a good way of-course.
I am very much in love with Kylie Scott's writing (as you all know by now). I love the sassy characters, the funny stories, the romance, the beautiful friendships... 
Chaser was different in the sense that the humour was not as present as in the other books; and although all our beloved characters (including the Stage Dive members) make an appearance, it is mostly focused on Eric, there was a little less of the other bar members than usual (or that is how I felt anyway). That was not a bad thing at all though,  I have zero complaints. It was another masterpiece by Kylie Scott!

Here is the blurb for you guys:
Given his well-earned bad boy reputation, Eric is having a tough time scoring. When single Jean moves to town, she seems heaven sent by the sex gods. Only problem is, she not only wants nothing to do with him, but it turns out that she's pregnant.

Starting over in a small town, Jean is determined to turn her wild lifestyle around and be the kind of mother she always wished she'd had. Since local bar owner and all round hottie, Eric Collins, is now determined to steer clear of her pregnant self, it should be easy. When she goes into labour during a snow storm and her car slides on some ice, it's Eric who comes to the rescue.

There seems to be a bond between them now, but is it enough? And can Eric give up his manwhore ways to be the man Jean needs?
 

Jean was an easy to like main character, though I felt Eric had a stronger page presence than she did. We didn't get to know much of her, enough to like her, not enough to love her.
Eric on the other hand...
Boy that man went through some amazing character growth through the story. It was impressive and really well written. At the beginning his friends are giving him a hard time for being unreliable and irresponsible, and the way he goes about trying to prove them wrong is both funny and face-palm worthy. I had to laugh.
His growth didn't happen overnight, it happened slowly and without him even noticing it was happening. He transformed from bad boy manwhore to the most caring and loving guy in the whole series. He starts putting Jean and the baby ahead of his own feelings without even having to think about it, naturally and willingly. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL!

I dare you not to fall in love with him! Go on...try! 😉

Find the book at (available from April 17):
Good Reads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Kylie is a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author. She was voted Australian Romance Writer of the year, 2013 & 2014, by the Australian Romance Writer’s Association and her books have been translated into eleven different languages. She is a long time fan of romance, rock music,
and B-grade horror films. Based in Queensland, Australia with her two children and husband, she reads, writes and never dithers around on the internet. 



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.