Skip to main content

Craved by the Dragon by Jessie Donovan - 3.75 Stars

Craved by the Dragon, Stonefire Dragons #11

Craved by the Dragon is number 11 in the Stonefire series (and its spin-off, Lochguard, is on number 5 now), I have read all of them and I am a massive fan. Craved by the Dragon was no different, I loved it. But I must confess it was my least favorite so far. There was just too much going on.
I love when the books have plenty of interaction with past characters and my heart sang with joy at all the moments Tristan and Evie graced the pages with their appearance, it was wonderful to see them again. Bram too. But there were way too many new characters and side stories, it took the focus away from Killian and Brenna. Without going back into the book or doing too much thinking I can come up with 3 new couples and 2 new side characters that were mentioned a few too many times. Sadly, all that side ‘action’ not just took the focus away but also made the story drag for me. I wanted more of the main characters and ended up getting annoyed every time it side-tracked.
All that being said, I love Jessie Donovan’s dragon shifter stories and I did enjoy Killian and Brenna’s story too. Killian’s before and after memory loss personalities got brilliantly depicted by his inner dragon and since what happens to him is an entire new concept I didn’t know what was going to happen to him and found myself guessing till the end, which is always a fan thing with books. On series this long predictability cab be an issue and Jessie Donovan managed to beautifully avoid that.
If you are a supernatural romance fan I would certainly recommend starting this series, and even though this was my least favorite in the series it still is a solid 3.75/5.
Go read!
Q&A with the author available here
Release date: 
Find this book at: AmazonKobo – Barnes and Noble/NookJessie Donovan


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.