Skip to main content

Blood Type by K.A. Linde- 5 stars [arc review]


My first book by K.A. Linde and there is no way it will be the last. I am HOOKED! As a fan of adult supernatural I am always in search of great plots (you know... they can be a bit too cheesy far too often) but this did not disappoint. I was intrigued from the very beginning. Yah, its a vampire story, but it is different and it will grab you and suck you in the whole way through.

The Blurb:

A startling new vision of paranormal romance: When a human ventures into the world of vampires—a decadent milieu of blood-bonds and betrayal—she discovers that not all is what it seems.


For Reyna Carpenter, giving up her body isn’t a choice. It’s survival.

In a civilization laid waste by poverty and desperation, Reyna accepts a high-paying position with the wealthy and hungry vampire elite. Her new job is as the live-in blood escort for the intimidating, demanding, and devilishly handsome Beckham Anderson. He’s everything she expected from a vampire, except for one thing—he won’t feed off her.

Reyna soon discovers that behind Beckham’s brooding, wicked façade lies a unique and complex man. And that, in a dark and divided world, she is more valuable than she ever would have believed.

For with each passing night, Reyna can’t shake the sensation that it’s Beckham who’s afraid of her.


OMG!!!! I would sell my soul for the next book. That cliffhanger is evil! I NEED to know what happens next.

Anyway... Now that that is out of the way I suppose we can talk about the book hey?
First of all, the plot is different. It is unexpected. It will keep you on your toes. And that is an art when writing on something (in this case vampires) that has been written a million times before. The mixture of main stream vampire lore and new exciting twists and turns made this an attractive read. And if you don't like supernatural all that much, still give it a go. It will be a good read for those who love 'rich guy gets the poor girl' romances too, you know... billionaire romances, or bad boy romances. Seriously, what is not to like?

I'm blabbing. That is not usually me. You will all forgive me right? 😉
Carrying on...

The main characters were captivating. 
Reyna is determined. She knows what she wants and what she needs and she is going for it. She is trying her best to make the best of a bad situation. It is admirable. 
I can't say I liked her in the end. You can't tell someone you trust them and back down 5 minutes later. That is so shitty... but you will all have to read the book to find out what exactly she did... 

Now let's talk about hot-broody-moody-fabulous-sexy-amazing-caring-hard to read-strong-resilient (and I can keep on going) Beckham! LOVED him! Can I have one of him please? How do you bring a character to life? I need one of those magic tricks... If any of you figure out, please let me know! 
He was a hard character to read at first but as Reyna slowly but surely got under his skin we found out more and more about him. There were so many different layers to his personality. 

The romance was a highlight for me because there was almost none. I know I know... that makes no sense. Let me explain: as they got to know each other, discover what makes the other 'tick' so to say their attraction became more and more evident but it is not till towards the end that both of them admit the extend of their feelings. We can guess it, we can see it coming, but it is never overpowering. This is a supernatural book with just the right amount of romance.

All in all, a fantastic read.
Now... dear author, or publisher, or gods of the brokenhearted readers... GIVE ME THE NEXT BOOK!!! 
Go Read Sunnies 🌞



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.