Skip to main content

Hopeless by Coleen Hoover - 3 stars

Hopeless, Colleen Hoover
This is not the easiest of reviews to write, let's start with that! 🤦
I liked the book, I think... 
I liked the story, I like how Coleen always creates really intense novels. And I loved the first two pages. The book starts with a punch and keeps you on your toes until almost the end.
But... the characters all felt flat for me and there was something a little off with the romance...

Blurb:
Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

So...
The most important part of a romance book is the romance, and so the romance is the main reason I cannot give this book a 5. It was just a little too weird. Holder came across a little creepy to start. And Sky was not that much better. 
I am all for well written insta-love but their immediate attraction to each other was off putting. I guess it will have something to do with him saying she reminded him of someone. I just kept  wondering who and couldn't enjoy their story. 
The other thing that put me off their romance was their sex scene. It took forever to happen and when it did it was all kinds of wrong. You will have to read it to understand what I am saying. I mean, I get it... I just don't agree with it and therefore didn't enjoy reading it. 

The other reason for it not being a higher score were the main characters themselves. Holder was scary and confusing. He was never nice for long enough for me to like him. At one point I thought him having a split personality would be part of the plot...
Sky can be describe in one word: immature. I can't handle that on my romances. On my Young Adult novels? yah, sure. On my romances? No Way! Specially if there are intense scenes between the couple. Not right *shivers* 

All that being said though, it was a good story, I liked the plot and the twists and turns. It was clever, well written and intense. In other words, it had all the Coleen Hoover trademarks! 

Find the books at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.