Skip to main content

Hopeless by Coleen Hoover - 3 stars

Hopeless, Colleen Hoover
This is not the easiest of reviews to write, let's start with that! 🤦
I liked the book, I think... 
I liked the story, I like how Coleen always creates really intense novels. And I loved the first two pages. The book starts with a punch and keeps you on your toes until almost the end.
But... the characters all felt flat for me and there was something a little off with the romance...

Blurb:
Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

So...
The most important part of a romance book is the romance, and so the romance is the main reason I cannot give this book a 5. It was just a little too weird. Holder came across a little creepy to start. And Sky was not that much better. 
I am all for well written insta-love but their immediate attraction to each other was off putting. I guess it will have something to do with him saying she reminded him of someone. I just kept  wondering who and couldn't enjoy their story. 
The other thing that put me off their romance was their sex scene. It took forever to happen and when it did it was all kinds of wrong. You will have to read it to understand what I am saying. I mean, I get it... I just don't agree with it and therefore didn't enjoy reading it. 

The other reason for it not being a higher score were the main characters themselves. Holder was scary and confusing. He was never nice for long enough for me to like him. At one point I thought him having a split personality would be part of the plot...
Sky can be describe in one word: immature. I can't handle that on my romances. On my Young Adult novels? yah, sure. On my romances? No Way! Specially if there are intense scenes between the couple. Not right *shivers* 

All that being said though, it was a good story, I liked the plot and the twists and turns. It was clever, well written and intense. In other words, it had all the Coleen Hoover trademarks! 

Find the books at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b