Skip to main content

Guest Author Q&A with Janna MacGregor

Hello sunnies!
You know me… when I find a new author to love I must know more about them! So today I am very happy to have Janna MacGregor with us. She writes amazing historical romances and if you browse the blog a little you will find a review or two of her books. Her last book, The Luck of the Bride, was amazing. You must check it out 😊



Hi Janna and welcome to Glimpses Of My Books! It brings me great joy to have you here with me and my readers today, I hope you enjoy your time with us.

Thank you so much! I’m delighted to be here today! I’m so happy you enjoyed THE LUCK OF THE BRIDE.

When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer?

I’m an attorney by day, and law school makes you learn to write quickly. However, I never really thought about writing romance until about five years ago when I took a Cherry Adair plotting class at the 2013 Romantic Times Convention in Kansas City. Within two days, I had the rough outline for my debut novel The Bad Luck Bride.

When you are not writing what genre do you enjoy reading? And do you have a ’go-to’ author?

Oh wow, I could go on and on about this subject. I adore historical romance and have since I was in high school. Of course, I never turn down a steamy contemporary romance. Around Halloween, I dig into the paranormal romance arena because—come on—who can resist a sexy vampire hero? LOL! I can’t!
I have a multitude of favorite authors—Eloisa James, Lisa Kleypas, Elizabeth Hoyt, Anna Campbell, Christina Lauren, and Kylie Scott are just a few of my “must buy” authors!

I LOVED The Luck of the Bride. I also could not stop tearing up… it was so darn sweet! What was your inspiration for the story?

Oh, thank you so much for the kind words. It really means a lot to me that you were so moved by the story. When I started to think about March Lawson, the heroine of THE LUCK OF THE BRIDE who was responsible for her three younger siblings, I kept thinking about all the children who fall through the cracks of our juvenal court system and foster care. Who looks out for them? Most of these children are assigned guardian ad litems, attorneys who are responsible that their legal interests. But who looks out for their everyday needs?
The inspiration for the hero, Michael Cavensham, Marquess of McCalpin, a powerful ducal heir who suffers from the learning disability dyscalculia, comes from my own family. I have a child who struggled mightily with math throughout their high school career. It wasn’t until their junior year of high school did we really get help with this problem. Just imagine a ducal heir having to hide their inability to perform the simplest math functions while managing great estates?
Team a numbers whiz heroine who will sacrifice everything to take care of her family with a ducal heir who can’t manage math and believes that the heroine is embezzling from him, and you’ve got the story of THE LUCK OF THE BRIDE.

Who was your favorite character to write in the series so far and why?

Gosh, that’s like asking who is my favorite child out of my three children! LOL! Seriously, I love all my characters in so many different ways. But I just finished THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE DUKE, which releases December 4, 2018. So, I have to say right now, I’m in love with Lady Daphne Hallworth and Paul Barstowe, the Duke of Southart. Imagine Home Alone meets the Regency! It was great fun writing their love story.


Do you have a favorite scene/moment?

In THE LUCK OF THE BRIDE, I laugh every time I read the scene where March has invited Michael to dinner. The family is in such dire straits that March wonders if they’ll have enough to eat the rest of the week. Never fear, dear readers! The family cat strolls in during the meal with a dead rabbit in its mouth. March’s nine-year-old brother announces they’ll have rabbit stew tomorrow and invites McCalpin to dine with them again. The humor and the accompanying embarrassment of the scene is one that a lot of my readers have commented on.

How many books are you planning to write for The Cavensham Heiresses series?


There are six books planned for the series. I’m currently writing number five tentatively titled ROGUE MOST WANTED. It features Lord William Cavensham, Michael’s brother (who is his fiercest defender) as the hero. The heroine is Lady Theodora, the Countess of Eanruig. As a countess in her own right, she must secure her title against a challenge from a distant cousin. The best way to do this is to marry quickly. She makes William an offer he can’t refuse. Just be careful what you wish for!

And for the fun of it… if you were to give The Luck of the Bride (or the series as a whole) a sound track, what 2-3 songs would be on it?

Well, let me see. Since math is such a strong theme through the story, I’d say any sound track would have to include J.S. Bach’s The Well-Tempered Clavier, specifically Prelude and Fugue in C Major. There are mathematical themes running throughout the pieces including the Pythagorean theorem. Many scholarly articles have been published about this topic.
Plus, I’d have to include the Jackson Five’s ABC song (Love “is easy as 1-2-3.”) March just has to get Michael to believe it!
Thank you so very much for taking your time to appease my curiosity 😊

Thank you so much for having me here today! I’ve had a blast talking with you.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation