Skip to main content

Waking to Black by V.H. Luis (Uninhibited Book 1) - 3 Stars [arc review]

Who here likes discovering new authors? It has got to be one of the reasons I enjoy NetGalley for romance reads, I have found a few good books there that I would perhaps not have read otherwise.
The blurb:
He shattered my defenses, and I was fragile to begin with…

The first time I saw Adam Black, I was between the arms of a criminal, a gun to my throat and even then, I knew I was staring at the most dangerous man in the room.

Maybe it was his confident, cerulean eyes, or the sex appeal radiating from his pores like heat waves on a scorching day, but by proximity alone he made my vision blur and my heart stammer.

The day I was nearly killed in a bank hold-up, I began to live—because of him.

Now, I’m praying for the first time in years, hoping the scars of my past, the secrets I keep, don’t interfere with my future…

I have so many conflicted emotions! 
I enjoyed the book and I could not find it in me to put it down (to the point I forgot my oven on 🙈). But... Adam oh Adam... he was both the sweetest and the biggest a**hole of all time and I just couldn't and can't get over how much of a hypocritical idiot he was all the way to the end. 

Evelyn was impossible to understand at first, her emotions and actions were all over the place. Luckily as the story progresses you start to understand her better and the story therefore becomes a lot more enjoyable. Her actions starts to make sense and you learn to love her and to feel for her.

Adam was a jerk. And not a jerk you can learn to love, just a jerk. He was rude, unforgiving, demanding, arrogant beyond belief, and often detached and emotionless. All those things (if we ever find out his past, which hopefully we will in the next book) would -perhaps- be forgiving. But his double standards and hypocrisy are not. He demands honesty and openness from Evelyn at all times without ever giving her the same courtesy. And when she points it out to him he is a total ass about it. He has his sweet moments and it is obvious he cares for her, but he needs to put his self-righteous attitude aside a little.

Evelyn's story deals with depression and suicide, so the book is not for everyone. I found it treated those heavy subjects well and respectfully though so I see no reason to stay away from reading it.
All in all it was a good book. Had a good intriguing story that kept you wanting more. I just wished I had liked the main male character more.

Release date: May 2nd
Find the book at: Amazon and GoodReads 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.