Skip to main content

Bloodleaf (Bloodleaf #1) by Crystal Smith [arc review]

@glimpses_of_my_books
Do you ever go into a book completely blind? I almost never do that these days, specially when it comes to Young Adult books. But... blind into it I went. I read the blurb after I had started the book and I have no regrets. Outside of romance YA Fantasy is a favorite genre of mine and I would have picked this one out regardless.

The Blurb:
Princess Aurelia is a prisoner to her crown and the heir that nobody wants. Surrounded by spirits and banned from using her blood-magic, Aurelia flees her country after a devastating assassination attempt. To escape her fate, Aurelia disguises herself as a commoner in a new land and discovers a happiness her crown has never allowed. As she forges new bonds and perfects her magic, she begins to fall for a man who is forbidden to rule beside her. But the ghosts that haunt Aurelia refuse to abandon her, and she finds herself succumbing to their call as they expose a nefarious plot that only she can defeat. Will she be forced to choose between the weight of the crown and the freedom of her new life?


3.5 Stars

This magical story had a nice flow to it. The first few chapters were captivating and it was hard to put the book down. Princess Aurelia is the heir to the throne but she gets ousted from her own country for possessing magic. In Renalt, people like her receive the death sentence. 
She goes to the Kingdom of  Achleva were she is meant to marry their sickly prince. None of it goes according to plan, an attempt in her life has her on the run.

Aurelia was a good female heroine. Not the cleverest tool in the box but brave and determined. 
Zan was a charming main male character. I think he was meant to be a heartthrob? I just found find sweet and adorable.
Nathaniel -his best friend- had me almost in tears. In many ways his character stole the show for me.
All other characters were good but not interesting enough to be mentioned.

Bloodleaf was a very easy to read fantasy, but not much of it was properly explained. That is not really a problem since this is only the first book in the series, but it is something the reader should keep in mind. 

The true negative to me was predictability. It was easy to see where the story was going. It follows tropes and themes that have become very popular in YA in recent years- powerful and yet clueless (and let's not forget plain looking) female heroine, male villain, two love interests that would give their lives for her, and a problem only the female character can fix. All those things on their own aren't bad, but when it makes the story predictable it is rather boring. There was at least one instance where the plot was so so obvious I wanted to scream at the book.

All that being said though it was great YA Fantasy. I have never heard of this author and I think this is a debut novel, which makes the book as a whole a lot more impressive. As a debut novel that was phenomenal. 

Release Date: March 12th, 2019 by HMH Books for Young Readers 
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.