Skip to main content

When a Duchess Says I Do (Rogues to Riches #2) by Grace Burrowes [arc review]

4.5 Stars :)

Best selling author Grace Burrowes has once again delivered a phenomenal historical romance. When a Duchess Says I Do was -as the fabulous author Mary Balogh put it- "Smart, sexy, and oh-so romantic".

Duncan Wentworth tried to help a damsel in distress once and things did not go well, he promised not to do so again. 

Matilda is clever, sweet, and very capable of taking care of herself. But she is in trouble and in need of a 'knight in shinning armor'. She is running away from problems that could destroyed her life and those who discover her secrets. 

When their paths cross Duncan can't resist it. His good and honorable heart takes over. He has to help her.

I absolutely loved their friendship and courtship. Duncan and Matilda were perfect for each other. Duncan's never ending patience and faith on Matilda is praiseworthy and made their slow burn romance all the more touching. It was absolutely adorable how they talked to each other in chess metaphors. Oh-so very geeky... but oh-so very sweet too.

Although this is book two in the Rogues to Riches series it works perfectly as a stand alone. I do encourage you to read My One and Only Duke first though. Towards the end of the book we get a really heartfelt scene between Quinn (book #1) and Duncan and it will be a whole lot more special to you if you've read both books.

All in all if you enjoy Historical Romance this Regency Romance by Grace Burrowes will certainly work for you. It has an interesting background story with just enough suspense and intrigue, fabulously clever main characters, and secondary characters that you will either fall in love with or already have on the previous book and will enjoy seeing again.

Go Read!

Release Date: April 2nd 2019 by Forever
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation