Skip to main content

Deadly Obsession (Steele Ops #1) by April Hunt [arc review]

“April Hunt’s romantic suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat.”
New York Times bestselling author Lori Foster 
True that!
I was on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. This romantic suspense was perfectly written.
The blurb:
Someone is watching their every move.

After a lifetime spent in and out of hospitals, Zoey Wright is tired of playing it safe. She’s ready to take charge of her own life and get out of her comfort zone, starting with a new job as a CSI agent. But when her childhood crush Knox Steele gets pulled onto her case, Zoey needs to put her feelings for him aside or more women will die at the hands of the serial killer preying on her hometown. 

Former Army Ranger Knox Steele is back in Washington to help his brothers open an elite private security firm. He never expected to stumble onto a crime scene, or see his best friend’s little sister working it. Zoey is all grown up now, and the attraction between them is electric, despite his best efforts to resist it. But all that changes for Knox when he realizes the victims have one thing in common . . . and Zoey might be next.


4.5 Stars

This was absolutely fantastic! The last romantic suspense book I read left me less than impressed, more suspense than romance. But Deadly Obsession had the perfect balance between the two. 

The story was really well told. It had a good pace and the banter and angst between all the characters was well thought out. The romance between Knox and Zoey is the main act and everything else fits in between their scenes. To me that is how romance suspense books should be so I was very happy the mystery didn't take it over. It was a very interesting story and I kept wondering who the killer would be for quite sometime, it was not obvious to start. 
The short chapters from the serial killer's point of view were creepy and I absolutely loved them! It added an extra element to the story.

Zoey's character was fabulous. Her tenacity and will to keep going besides all the curve balls life has thrown at her made her an admirable character. 
Knox annoyed me a little to start, he was too concerned with his own feelings to worry about the consequence of his actions on others. But as the story progressed he grew on me. 

Knox's brothers all stole the scene when they were on the page. I cannot wait to see what stories April Hunt comes out with for his siblings. 

All in all a great story. Perfect? no. But close enough and I will definitely be reading the books yet to come!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation