Skip to main content

Rich, Rugged Rancher (Texas Cattleman’s Club: Inheritance #2) by Joss Wood

Rich, Rugged Racher by Joss Wood
Pic by @glimpses_of_my_books
"Why aren't you pushing me away?"

"Because you kiss like a dream."


Ever since the accident that took his leg, oil tycoon Clint Rockwell doesn't do relationships--he likes being alone. And he doesn't need anyone's pity. Then fast-talking reality star Fee Martinez sweeps into Royal, Texas, on to his ranch...and into his bed. It's only for a night, and then two. Wanting more is impossible, but this goodbye might be the hardest thing he's ever done...

3.5 Stars

There aren't many books with disabled heroes out there. Plenty that deal with mental health illness, obviously also a disability, but not many with characters on wheelchairs, or as is the case here, missing a limb - leg - and needing prosthetics or crutches to go around. I am not one to go around asking for more diversity in my books because in all honesty it is often not done well and I prefer to have none than something done poorly. 
All that is to say that I wasn't too sure going in if I was going to like Rich, Rugged Racher. I don't ever expect works of fiction to be accurate, but some matters need to be treated with respect regardless. Writing about someone that served their country and got badly injured in the process is definitely one of those things. 
I think Clint was written beautifully. He is perfect, but he doesn't feel that way. Who would? Some people, like his own mother, are rather nasty about it and full of prejudice. Others, like our heroine Fee sees him for what he is, someone that overcame a hardship and is even better because of it.
Let's not forget this is a romance though, so there is plenty of 'lust at first sight' and 'too hot to handle' moments. The books was funny too, Fee is a firecracker and I found myself smiling at it all rather often. 
The only negative to me was the 2 (I think it was 2) chapters that focuses on someone else entirely. It is meant to be a set up for the next book, so I get it. But it felt out of place. I wasn't well embedded within Clint's and Fee's story. One moment I was reading their story, the next a chapter from a completely different book. They were small, so it was ok, but still wish they weren't there. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation