Skip to main content

Through the Darkest Hour (The Chaos Theory Duet Book 2) by Cassandra Giovanni

Into the Darkest Night
Through the Darkest hour
Author Cassandra Giovanni
pics by @glimpses_of_my_books
Romantic suspense kills me (when done well anyway). The need to know the end, to know what happens, and what clues I am missing, drives me CRAZY! And so, it is one of the romance sub-genres I read the least. I genuinely feel like I am giving myself anxiety issues when I do 😅 
All that is to say this little duet was beautifully written and kept me anxious almost the whole way, which a romantic suspense is suppose to do. So if you like romantic suspense, give this little gem a try. The review for the first book is here.

Blurb:

I was sent to save the city.
It turns out I'm the poison that will destroy it.

Sun City is a city divided, eaten away by the corruption of the Elite upper-class who reside in the Gold District. The drugs siphon down into the middle-class White District, killing the dreams of its residents until they end up in poverty-stricken Blue District.
Ana Jacobs has spent the last year of her life atoning for her father's sins and searching for the truth about the Trinity. During the day, she's Sun City's best cop. At night, she becomes Night Hawk, a bow and arrow wielding vigilante who dispatches those within the Trinity's corrupt Inner Circle. Between both worlds, she works to fight her demons.
Years of torture didn't break Ana, but the truth just might. Now, with the burden of how she's tied to the city's death sentence, a new villain places her and all she loves in their sights. She's determined to protect her newfound family, but when she comes face to face with the Nightwatchman, Ana realizes the man she loves is as tangled in the city's lies as she is.
Together, they might be able to save the city -- if only Ana lets Levi in.
But some demons never rest.

This book starts where Into the Darkest Night left off, so you really cannot read one without the other. 
Ana and Levi are together now but their secrets define who they are and if things are to work between them they have to find a way to share those secrets with each other. 
Most of the book focuses on them trying to figure out who is behind the virus and who is en-charge. A little after the half way point I had my suspicions about who it was but it was not obvious, you are still left guessing for quite sometime. 
I really can't say more without spoiling it all for you, so I guess you will just have to give this a try.
One negative? the same I have with almost all suspense books I read, things take a while to happen. But that really is the way the genre is meant to be so it is just a matter of preference and of what you like reading. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation