Skip to main content

The Battlemage by Taran Matharu- 4.75/5 stars [arc review]

This was, no shadow of doubt my favorite book in this epic trilogy! I am so very glad to have read it.

I love the world the author has created. I mean... I want a demon as a pet! Preferably Athena, she loves so fiercely...

For those who don't know this trilogy, it is a beautiful story of friendship! That is the main thing I got out of it. I cried with them and I laughed with them.
And it is the story of Fletcher, a young boy who finds out he can summon demons. By the third book he has made more enemies than friends, but the friends he has made are worth more than anything!

The World building in this trilogy is phenomenal. In Battlemage we finally get to see the ether (the place were the demons come from). It is exciting, thrilling and a tad scary.

The plot for the third book is not new, it carries on well from the last book. There aren't new characters introduced or new major plot twists. It focuses on the characters we know and even brings back one old friend (I loved that part, but I won't spoil it for you)! I was honestly thrilled that the author focused solely on the characters we already know. It was nice to get a more in depth look at some of them. Fletcher, obviously, being the main one. He grows and learns so much on all three books, but specially I believe in this one.

The ending was perfect! I really am not a fan of happy, everything explained and tied up book endings. I believe, that fantasy or not, a book should connect with the readers and with real life somehow, and in real life things don't just stop happening and suddenly become prefect. I like how the ending tied up many lose ends, but not all of them. Life goes on...

So, after so much praise why 4.75 and not 5? I am very very picky about books with a slower narrative, and at times this was a tad slow. That being said, this obviously didn't bother me much. The book was wonderful and I highly recommend it!

Go Read!!!!





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation