Skip to main content

The Novice by Taran Matharu- 4 stars

The book had a slow star, which is why I am giving it 4 stars rather than 5.

As most of you know I love a good fantasy book, so all the magic, elfs, orcs and summoners in this book got me very excited. Once the plot started moving it became impossible to put the book down.

The story is about Fletcher, an orphan boy who by reading an old scroll discovers he is a summoner by summoning a rare demon. The demon is not an evil creature but a part of the demon. After being accused of a crime he did not commit (he had just summoned the demon at the time), he fled and joined a school for summoners. It is there that the story finally evolves.
There are a few things that make his character rather interesting. The main characters in most books these days suddenly become all powerful. This does not happen to Fletcher. He is at no point the strongest character in the story. He is young and has a lot to learn. But he is also clever, and listens to people that try to help him.

His demon Ignatious is adorable. I can't wait to find out more about him. He is clever and sweet and I am sure we will see a lot more of him.

The secondary characters are all very interesting and fascinating too. They are all special in their own way. I particularly love the dwarves. The friendships formed in this book are beautiful!

This book is all you could hope for in a fantasy ya: captivating, exciting, interesting!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation