Skip to main content

The Month of April!

Here is my quick run through the books I've read and reread in April!

1 and 2- ACOTAR and ACOMAF by Sarah J Maas (rereads)
Visit my etsy if you like those painted letters!

I reread this beauties in anticipation and preparation of the ACOWAR release! 10 out of 5 stars? And if you haven't read yet::::: WHY!?!?!?!?! Its is one of the best YA fantasies out there (adult YA). 

3 and 4- Fever series by Karen Marie Moning (books 1 and 2)

I am in love with the world Karen Marie Moaning has built! It is a fantasy like no other. The first two books are fast reads and packed with mystery and adventure. I gave it 4.5 stars as a whole and definitely recommend you read. I can't wait to get my hands in the remainder of the series.

5- State of Grace by Hilary Badger 
I am not going to bother uploading a picture for this book. I had to read and review it for work (I am a librarian) and I absolutely hated it. The book makes no sense, the story is badly told. It is advertised as young ya or juvenille, and I guess that is what it is. But it is dumb. Kids deserve better reading material. And...in case you are a religious person, prepare to be offended. 

6- Julia Vanishes by Catherine Egan 

This was such a good read! A complete surprise to me as I have never heard of it before. It was another book I had to read and review for work and after reading State of Grace I was petrified. I was pleasantly surprised! Julia is the main character and she has the ability to be unseen. Not invisible exactly, but unseen and not always there. She is part of a group of thieves, and so, in a way, reminded me of Six of Crows. Full review a few posts down!

7, 8 and 9- The Summoner series by Taran Matharu

I only picked up this series because I got the third book as an arc. The book comes out in the beginning of May and whenever I get an arc of  book yet to be published I make a point of reading it before it comes out. I was really surprised by how good it was since I don't see it around bookstagram often. It is an excellent YA. There is plenty of magical beings and wonderful creatures to learn about. Plenty of tension to keep you interest from beginning to end too. If you are a fan of fantasy I don't see why you wouldn't like this. I would compare this series to This Savage Song. But I would also add that this is better. It has a much stronger themes, friendship being the main one and that is quite lovely to read. I gave it a 4.5 stars and full reviews on all three books can be found on this blog! 


10- A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schawb 

I finished reading this last night and I am glad to say it has lived up to its expectations. it was a great book. I am very much looking forward to the remainder of the series. The one and only reason I will not continue reading it now is that my copy of ACOWAR should be here sometime in the next few days. ADSOM was yet another fantastic work by the wonderful V.E. Schawb, the world building was phenomenal as were the main characters. I cannot recommend this amazing ya fantasy enough. 
I will have a review on the series as a whole once I'm done reading it. Give me a month or so.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation