Skip to main content

Cinderella.com by River Laurent- 5/5 stars


Before I begin: this is not an YA like most of my book reviews. It is an adult romance story. As the book covers states, A Modern Day Cinderella Story! For the book blurb look here.

Gosh, I loved this! Hence the review even though I do not usually write reviews here for adult books!
It was so so cute!

It is not easy to find a good fairy-tale retelling. Marissa Meyer is one of the few YA authors that manages that brilliantly. It is even harder however to find a good adult fairy-tale retelling. I tried one not long ago one meant to be an adult retell for Beauty and the Beast and it was terrible.
Cinderella.com however exceeded expectations. I was intrigued by the blurb: a cowboy prince charming?! But I was not expecting to be hooked in the story from the very first pages as badly as I was. I seriously could not put the book down. I read it in two sittings and if I didn't have to sleep to be up early next day it would have been in one.
The story was original, whimsical, funny, charming... I expected it to be over dramatic (dealing with an obnoxious celebrity), but it really wasn't. For the most of the book, I had a big smile on my face.
It was one those light and fun summer reads! -if that makes sense-

I fell in love with Cass on the very first page. Connected with her and wanted to be her friend almost instantly. She was so well written! I was rooting for her the whole way through.

Lars is hilarious. Mean... but we know why he is being (or trying to be) mean, which makes it funny. He thinks she is Tamara the rich brat! Don't blame him one bit for trying to put her on her place and don't blame him one bit for not knowing what to do with himself when he slowly realizes she is not exactly what he thought she would be.
We don't have much of a background for him and it takes a little longer to connect to him, but we find out why in the end. And its cheesy, but the kind of cheesy that makes you go 'aaahhh' LOL

The author also provided us with glimpses a both characters internal dialogues when around each other. And it made for a very fun reading experience!

The ending was adorable! I usually prefer slightly open endings, I like the endings to be realistic that way, life goes on so bow tied endings don't usually work for me. But I can make exceptions, and this was a great exception to that rule. The ending was darn perfect!

Pic taken from this blogger!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation