Skip to main content

R.I.P. Eliza Hart by Alyssa Sheinmel- 5/5 stars [arc review]


This is no shadow of doubt my favorite contemporary read for 2017 this far! 

For the book blurb click Here (GoodReads)

I am so in awe that it is almost hard to write the review. I feel like I won't give it justice.
R.I.P Eliza Hart is about (mainly) two girls with mental issues. Ellie, who suffers from claustrophobia due to a traumatic experience we don't figure out till the end of the book. And Eliza, who was emotionally unstable for reasons revealed slowly throughout the book. 

It impressed me how much background story is given to both main characters in just a few hundred pages. I felt Ellie's pain thorough the pages and I was always curious to know what would happen next. She was a wonderful and easy character to relate to. As was Sam, her roommate, friend, and eventually love interest. The romance story happening on the side between those two is adorable. I was gushing and blushing while reading their interactions. Utterly cute! 

Eliza was just as well written. Her character is a little darker. A little more disturbed. A little harder to understand. But as we find out more about her and about her family we began to understand it all better. We began to understand her better...

I found Alyssa Sheinmel's description of both girls issues profoundly touching and respectful. There aren't many young adult authors out there that can write on such subjects in a realistic and yet light hearted way, she does that perfectly. I also loved that she dives into Eliza's family's background in order to explain Eliza's issues. I don't think many people realize that certain mental problems are/can be hereditary.

It is my belief that the main message in the book was to never be afraid or ashamed to ask for help. And that was done beautifully!
Everyone that has suffered from depression has difficulties talking about it. Both because it is not an easy subject and because of the bad rep it receives. So to have this done so well was fantastic!  

I will be recommending this to everyone I know who enjoys contemporaries and/or realisticsbooks! Go Read! 

Ps- This book does not come out till November 2017. My review is based on a arc I received from the author. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.