Skip to main content

R.I.P. Eliza Hart by Alyssa Sheinmel- 5/5 stars [arc review]


This is no shadow of doubt my favorite contemporary read for 2017 this far! 

For the book blurb click Here (GoodReads)

I am so in awe that it is almost hard to write the review. I feel like I won't give it justice.
R.I.P Eliza Hart is about (mainly) two girls with mental issues. Ellie, who suffers from claustrophobia due to a traumatic experience we don't figure out till the end of the book. And Eliza, who was emotionally unstable for reasons revealed slowly throughout the book. 

It impressed me how much background story is given to both main characters in just a few hundred pages. I felt Ellie's pain thorough the pages and I was always curious to know what would happen next. She was a wonderful and easy character to relate to. As was Sam, her roommate, friend, and eventually love interest. The romance story happening on the side between those two is adorable. I was gushing and blushing while reading their interactions. Utterly cute! 

Eliza was just as well written. Her character is a little darker. A little more disturbed. A little harder to understand. But as we find out more about her and about her family we began to understand it all better. We began to understand her better...

I found Alyssa Sheinmel's description of both girls issues profoundly touching and respectful. There aren't many young adult authors out there that can write on such subjects in a realistic and yet light hearted way, she does that perfectly. I also loved that she dives into Eliza's family's background in order to explain Eliza's issues. I don't think many people realize that certain mental problems are/can be hereditary.

It is my belief that the main message in the book was to never be afraid or ashamed to ask for help. And that was done beautifully!
Everyone that has suffered from depression has difficulties talking about it. Both because it is not an easy subject and because of the bad rep it receives. So to have this done so well was fantastic!  

I will be recommending this to everyone I know who enjoys contemporaries and/or realisticsbooks! Go Read! 

Ps- This book does not come out till November 2017. My review is based on a arc I received from the author. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b