Skip to main content

July Wrap-Up! 13 BoOkS!

Hi Guys! Here is my reading wrap up for July! I cannot believe I managed to read 13 books...
Have fun having a look at it and feel free to ask question either here or on my Bookstagram

- Our Dark Duet by Victoria E Schwab

(YA fantasy) 4.3/5 It may not have been as good as This Savage Song. But it was amazing and most definitely worth a read. August is adorable and I will love him forever! For my full thoughts on the book find my full review on this blog!
- Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
(NA fantasy) 4.8/5 This book was exquisite. Beyond original! That must be a Jay Kristoff trade mark- originality. It is about an assassin, it is about revenge, it is about grief... I highly recommend it! A full review is available on this Blog.

-The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
(YA fantasy) 4.3/5 I love Maggie Stiefvater creativity and imagination. She ALWAYS comes up with amazing and unforgettable tales. But, she also has a slower pace to her stories than most ya writers, which if you have never read her books before might annoy you. I thought this was her most adorable book yet! Go have a look at my full review on this blog.

- Stars Above by Marissa Meyer
(YA sci-fi/fantasy) 3.5/5 The Lunar Chronicles (which you can find reviews for in this blog) was a wonderful read. All the characters hold a very special place in my heart, and because of that I decided to read Stars Above. I thought it was sweet of the author to write short little stories giving us a more thorough background on our beloved characters. However most of it felt flat for me. I didn't need the details behind Cinder lost of limbs, we kind of new her story already -for example-. But, I did love the last story, the one set for after Winter. That was super sweet. The perfect 'happily ever after' ending to the perfect fairy-tale retelling!


- RIP Eliza Hart by Alyssa Scheinmel
(YA Contemporary) 5/5 Wow! definitely my favorite read of the month! This was so beautiful and so real. It deals with depression and mental health issues in a respectful and kind way while at the same time keeping it as realistic as possible. It is also sweet and has a very cute friendship/romance.  I can't summarize it well in just a few lines, you ought to read my full review on it (find it in this blog)

- Cinderella.com by River Laurent
(adult contemporary romance) 5/5 I got this book as part of my LitCube book subscription for June. I thought the book blurb was intriguing but was worried about it being a retelling. Needed not to worry! The book has a super fun and sweet story. Highly recommended for lovers of romance books! -Full review available on this Blog-

- Love's Alchemy by Ciar Cullen
(adult fantasy romance) 5/5 I got this book from my good friend Sally (Instagram). It had the cheesiest of covers. It is pretty bad actually 😆 But the story is true perfection. I loved it! It tells the story of brothers who were made immortal by Sir Issac Newton when he discovered the philosophers stone. But, before he dies, bitter with his creations (the brothers) he cursed them to die in a few hundred years time and foretold he would be reincarnate in the future too. He would be there when they died. Back to the present, the brothers are trying to find Sir Issac's reincarnation so that maybe they can convince this new person, who has Sir Issac's memories to undo the curse. The oldest brother finds it on a girl... They are immediately attracted to each other, but she fears him...

- The Highlanders Touch by Karen Marie Moning
(adult fantasy romance) 5/5 Karen Marie Moning never ceases to amaze me. I only discovered her a few months ago and have already read at least 6 books by her. She is so creative on her writing! The Highlander's touch is about an American girl who ends up accidentally travelling through time and stuck in the past in Scotland during a time if war and kings. She ends up with a warrior famously known for keeping his promises and being an amazing fighter. Little she knows, he also happens to be immortal and after watching his wife age and die sworn off ever being with a woman again. He must stay away from her. And she must resist her attraction to him and find a way back home.

- The Dark Highlander by Karen Marie Moning
(adult fantasy romance) 4.5/5 Another great book by KMM! Not as good as The Highlander's touch, it is slow at times. But I loved it nonetheless. It tells the story of a Scottish Druid (Dageus) who broke his vows and therefore pact made between the fairy and the humans. Consequently to that 13 evil beings got trapped inside him. He has to find away to get rid of them before they take over his mind and body completely and proceed to destroy humanity. As he searches ancient manuscripts for a way to solve his problems his paths cross with Chloe, a student of antiques. And he soon finds that staying with her helps him keep darkness at bay. But he knows that will not last long.

- Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning
(adult fantasy romance) 5/5 This is so far my favorite in the series. It was sexy and it was funny. I laughed out loud and I was enraged with the characters. Adam Black, a faerie you will know from other books if you haven't been reading in order like myself is jealous that Hawk, our main Scottish character in this book, has his Queen craving for him. He seeks to destroy him by giving him a woman that does not want him- Adrienne. And she really doesn't. She hates his guts and every womanizer male around. There is a background story to that, as there is one for Hawks ways... their relationship is intense, full of hatred. But you know what they say... love and hate walk hand in hand!

- Royally Bad by Nora Flite
(NA mafia romance) 3.4/5 I got this book with  book subscription (Romance Reveal). I don't think the book was bad, it had a sweet story, but it was very predictable. Your usual bad boy/mafia adult romance. Nothing extraordinary about it.

- Carter Reed I and II by Tijan
(NA mafia romance) 4.9/5 for I and 4.7/5 for II So... another bad boy/mafia romance. Very different than Royally Bad though. This was one worth every minute and although it has its usual mafia romance cliche (bad boy saves girl) it also had a great awesome background story. I am so in love with Carter, he is so bad ass and such a softie at the same time. I loved his background story. The story is also action packed. It literally starts with a bang! Emma comes home to find out her roommate being raped... and from that moment onward the action, the passion, the twists and turns never stop coming! All in all it was a fun, exciting, hot read. Your usual mafia romance but with a background story to back it up and make it exciting!



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.