Skip to main content

Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff- A wholehearted 100 out of 5 f****** stars!

Dear all, stop all you are doing. I do not care what book you are reading, unless it is Godsgrave: STOP Godsgrave is better! I can almost promise you that.
Nevernight was good, it was interesting, different, original... Godsgrave is better! A LOT better!
When December comes and the voting begins for best book of the year Mr Kristoff will take my vote. 
Absolutely brilliant! 

Here is the book blurb for Godsgrave: Blurb

I did not miss one single character from the first book. And I don't mean that in a negative way at wall, I mean it as a compliment. Godsgrave was so freaking epic it doesn't matter if the story begins with Mia and old Mercurio or with Mia in the gladiator pits (or something similar to that anyways). The book deserves praise on its own.
The book is gory. Savage. Angry. Bloody. Exactly what you would expect after Nevernight. 

Every single character on this epic sequel was outstanding. It is hard to point to just one. They were all very well written and Jay Kristoff managed to form some sort of connection between the reader and every single one of the secondary characters. I don't feel like I can say anything about them without giving some of the plot away, just know that they are unique and you will very likely love them all.
Godsgrave had much intrigue, suspense, action, plot twists... So much happen in those 400 pages. Its crazy!!!! I cannot wait to read more. It is very frustrating book 3 does not even have a release year. How along are you going to make us wait Mr Kristoff?!
As for Mia, I liked Mia in Nevernight, didn't connect with her all that much, but I liked her. I loved Mia in Godsgrave! There is more heart to her here. She is more real, more relatable. 
Now, don't go on thinking she is less savage for it, she is still the same deadly little girl as before. Her morals are still best described as 'a touchy grey'. Mia is one bad-ass heroine, there isn't really any other book heroine out there quite like it. She goes through a lot in this book, it is more than just revenge.

The interactions between Mr Kindly and eclipse were fun to read. They add an interesting and different dimension to the book. Mr Kindly was one of my favorite things in Nevernight, and although the actual human characters had more of my attention in Godsgrave, I still loved Mia's shadows. Specially their conversation towards the end which alludes to what the shadows truly are. I have had a suspicion for quite some time and I think the ending confirms it. Mr Kristoff is the master of plot twists though, so I could be wrong still... Either way, LOVED it. 


Did I dislike anything? Well, I still don't care for the footnotes. But there was less of them this time. I also did not care for the sex scenes, but that is just personal preference. At least the romance here felt natural and sweet, it was only the sex that I did not like reading. My last review was on Lord of Shadows and the diversity there felt forced and agenda pushing. So this was much much better done. 

Go Read



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation