Skip to main content

Plague Land by Alex Scarrow- 3.7/5 stars

I am a tad speechless right now...
This was VERY out of my comfort zone. I do not usually read horror, zombie fiction (which this reminds me of), apocalyptic stuff, etc... 
Movies? yah... I watch those... but not books.
-->On that note: this would actually make one epic end-of-the-world movie!<--

The first part of Plague Land focused on Leon, his sister Grace, and their mother. The virus had just reached England and they are trying to run away from it to survive it.
The second part of the book focuses in part on Leon and Grace and in part on the virus itself. This is not any virus. It grows, it thinks, it creates...
New characters are also introduced here. Leon and Grace find refuge with other survivors and must fight to stay alive with them. Things go well for a while. But then the virus evolves...

By far the most interesting thing in the book is the actual virus. All through out you get chapters on how the virus thinks, on how it sees itself. On how it evolves from being a single cell brought to life with a drop of water to expanding, growing, and becoming so much more. An organism, a body, a form of life. 
It is sinister. It is gory.

Stories like that can be predictable, I genuinely don't think that was the case here. I was often shocked by the turn of events. Specially what happened to Grace... 
The book was intense! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It was also a fast read, I pretty much got it done in one go.
Please bear in mind this book is not for the faint-hearted. There is plenty of horrifying and graphic descriptions of deaths. It is brutal and gruesome. There is also an instant of attempted rape. It is not very graphic, but it is there. 

The ending was incomplete. But I guess this will be a series... 

All in all it was a very good book. But it was just not my style of reading. I am not the correct demographic for it. I think teenage boys who rather enjoy gruesome zombie like stuff will truly enjoy this. I am looking forward to seeing what the boys at the library I work at will think of it when the book comes out in December.

For the book blurb and release date: Plague Land- Amazon 






Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b