Skip to main content

Plague Land by Alex Scarrow- 3.7/5 stars

I am a tad speechless right now...
This was VERY out of my comfort zone. I do not usually read horror, zombie fiction (which this reminds me of), apocalyptic stuff, etc... 
Movies? yah... I watch those... but not books.
-->On that note: this would actually make one epic end-of-the-world movie!<--

The first part of Plague Land focused on Leon, his sister Grace, and their mother. The virus had just reached England and they are trying to run away from it to survive it.
The second part of the book focuses in part on Leon and Grace and in part on the virus itself. This is not any virus. It grows, it thinks, it creates...
New characters are also introduced here. Leon and Grace find refuge with other survivors and must fight to stay alive with them. Things go well for a while. But then the virus evolves...

By far the most interesting thing in the book is the actual virus. All through out you get chapters on how the virus thinks, on how it sees itself. On how it evolves from being a single cell brought to life with a drop of water to expanding, growing, and becoming so much more. An organism, a body, a form of life. 
It is sinister. It is gory.

Stories like that can be predictable, I genuinely don't think that was the case here. I was often shocked by the turn of events. Specially what happened to Grace... 
The book was intense! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It was also a fast read, I pretty much got it done in one go.
Please bear in mind this book is not for the faint-hearted. There is plenty of horrifying and graphic descriptions of deaths. It is brutal and gruesome. There is also an instant of attempted rape. It is not very graphic, but it is there. 

The ending was incomplete. But I guess this will be a series... 

All in all it was a very good book. But it was just not my style of reading. I am not the correct demographic for it. I think teenage boys who rather enjoy gruesome zombie like stuff will truly enjoy this. I am looking forward to seeing what the boys at the library I work at will think of it when the book comes out in December.

For the book blurb and release date: Plague Land- Amazon 






Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.