Skip to main content

Tycoon by Katie Evans 3/5 stars

This was an "ok" read to me. There was nothing special about it, nothing different. At times was sweet and all you would hope from a New Adult book, at other times it was repetitive and boring.

The plot is not original, it has well used themes. But themes that are well used because they work, because readers like them. I know I do!! Hence I was looking forward to it. 
It is a story of high school friends who meet again later in life: friends to lovers, second chance in love. And it is the very popular story of a rich guy who falls for feisty and not so rich girl. I like those themes, they are common NA and they work. Well...most of the time they do.

The Blurb: 
He wasn’t always this rich. This hot. This difficult.
Aaric Christos was a guy who protected me. Wanted me. Maybe even loved me.
That man is gone.
In his place is the most powerful real estate tycoon in the city.
He’s a cold, ruthless, aggressive businessman.
The only one who can save me and my startup from ruin.
It takes every ounce of courage to put my pride aside and ask for his help.
I didn’t expect him to offer it easily.
And he doesn’t.
Instead, he vets me harder than he’s vetted anyone.
Don’t invest in what you don’t know, he says.
He's assessing every piece of me, to the point I've never felt so bare.
I yearn for the boy I once knew, whose touch once craved me.
Putting it all on the line will be worth it, I tell myself.
Until I realize—too late—that some risks are not worth taking.


For starters, the Blurb is not accurate.
He’s a cold, ruthless, aggressive businessman.-->Aaric is not ruthless. He is actually quite nice. And aggressive businessman for sure, but not ruthless.
I didn’t expect him to offer it easily.And he doesn’t.--> Yes, he does. 
Instead, he vets me harder than he’s vetted anyone.--> He doesn't vet her at all. I was actually looking forward to that, to this tension that did never come into existence. Going out to dinner and talking about the best is not vetting! 

The book started well. I really liked Bryn at first. She believes in her business and is not willing to give up. It was nice to see her go for it, fight for it. I liked how in touch with reality her situation was at first too- walking dogs to make ends meet in the Big City. But as a whole she was so immature. And chasing a guy that has a girlfriend? no no and no. I can handle love triangles, falling in love with more than on person may not happen often but it does happen. Cheating though...no. 
And then there was the whole 'my parents died thing' that just wouldn't go away. It was a nice touch to the story the first time it was mentioned, even the second and the third. It was cute. The alarm clock thing was cute. But after the 100th time it was just plain annoying. Did she have one single conversation with him where she did not bring up her dad parents or his dead mum? so annoying. 

I really liked Aaric at first too. He was honest, hard working. Not your usual NA alpha male, a little more down to earth and in touch with reality. His past suited him, made sense. He knows what he wants and fights for it. He may be a rich man now but it wasn't always that  way and he remembers that. The ending the author gave him though was very infuriating. He ended up coming across towards the end as a needy child incapable of dealing with his own problems in a mature way. Which goes against everything we learnt of him throughout the freaking book. I hated, despised the events in the end of the book. That was so unnecessary. And the brother involvement just made it even worse. 

So...yah... it was an ok read. Nothing to be excited about, but with enough good bits to make it an ok late night read. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation