Skip to main content

Kian by Tijan - 4 stars

For the book blurb: Kian

First off, the book cover---> It is so freaking gorgeous! Especially after you read the book. It has Kian down perfectly. The handsome gorgeous man and the tormented look... very very accurate.

This is the 4th book I read by Tijan and she did not disappoint. It wasn't perhaps as good as the other three, but it still had a fantastic story and had my attention from beginning to end.

That tiny little sentence on the book cover has the main plot down: "He killed for me". Kian went to prison after killing Jo's foster father. The book begins just a little before he gets released early from prison. Jo is in hiding, after being persecuted by the media an FBI agent (who becomes something of a father figure to her) helps her hide. But with Kian out, the media is in search of her again.
He is the single most caring male character in a NA book I've read in quite sometime. He may be a killer now, but he has one big heart. 
Although the book is called Kian, it is for the most part not really about him, but about Jo. I am not sure if that is a plus or a negative. I enjoyed her story, even resonated with her, but not as much as Tijan's other female characters. Sadly Jo did come across a tad silly and childish at times. 
Kian was pure perfection. There was absolutely nothing wrong and there is nothing negative to be said about his character. He is loyal, caring, and loving. He also has one very heavy and guilty conscience. Jo needed him, would have died without him. But he needs her too. And a lot. 
The one major negative for me was all the 'girl drama'. I can handle some of that. Tijan has had some of that on all the books I've read, but they have all been minimal. In Kian though it is in full force. I would happily have removed the whole freaking section. It was too much. Too cheesy. Too bitchy. Too unrealistic. And I therefore cannot give it a higher scoring than 4.
Either way, great romance read! So.... Go Read!


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation