Skip to main content

Stroke of Luck by B.J. Daniels [arc review]

The plot was nuts. The crime/suspense that was going on the background made me laugh and roll my eyes constantly. That being said, the romance was utterly adorable and even the ridiculous plot I couldn't help but love in the end... 

Stroke of Luck, B.J. Daniels

Blurb:

He’s hoping to bury the past. She’s ready to settle the score.

The Sterling Ranch’s season opening isn’t going so smoothly. With the ranch’s lodge full of guests and a Montana blizzard threatening, Will Sterling needs help—and he needs it fast. So when his childhood friend Poppy Carmichael agrees to lend a hand, he’s grateful for a second chance…and more enticed by the woman she’s become than he cares to admit.

For Poppy, it was supposed to be a retreat full of horse rides and hoedowns—with a side of showing Will what he’s been missing all these years. But as the snow deepens outside, the guests’ suspicion and mistrust turn sinister inside, catching Will and Poppy in the crosshairs.

Weathering the storm in each other’s arms is all too easy for Will and Poppy, but will a confrontation with a killer mean their reunion is short-lived?


The Review: 3.5 Stars

Poppy was freaking adorable. Can I have her as a bestie please?
And of-course the chef here (did that for 13 years) absolutely loved all the food references. BJ Daniels did a great job on that front and Poppy came across as a fantastic chef. Lucky Will :)
I though her plan to get back at Will although very unrealistic was charming and sweet. And when it worked? it was funny and captivating.
Will was also a great character. But boy was he unlucky... there was a lot going wrong at the same time. I don't feel like we got to know him all that well, he was always running because of one problem or other.

The crime and suspense plot was just ridiculous. But the kind of ridiculous you can't help but laugh and like. It made no sense, it was too far fetching, and at times a little predictable. But that is crime fiction most of the time... or at least that is how I feel about it.

Although the plot was a tad nuts that is not the reason I can't give 5 stars. I can't because the crime side of the story was more prominent than the romance. In the end I didn't feel like I read a romance novel but rather crime fiction that just so happens to have a 'main couple'. Now, I know exactly which friend of mine will love that (yes, talking about you Megan), but that is not my thing and hasn't been since I was a teen.

Book Release Date: February 19th
Find it at: GoodReads - Amazon

*Stroke of luck was kindly provided by the publisher via Instagram in exchange for a bookstagram post.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b