Skip to main content

Stroke of Luck by B.J. Daniels [arc review]

The plot was nuts. The crime/suspense that was going on the background made me laugh and roll my eyes constantly. That being said, the romance was utterly adorable and even the ridiculous plot I couldn't help but love in the end... 

Stroke of Luck, B.J. Daniels

Blurb:

He’s hoping to bury the past. She’s ready to settle the score.

The Sterling Ranch’s season opening isn’t going so smoothly. With the ranch’s lodge full of guests and a Montana blizzard threatening, Will Sterling needs help—and he needs it fast. So when his childhood friend Poppy Carmichael agrees to lend a hand, he’s grateful for a second chance…and more enticed by the woman she’s become than he cares to admit.

For Poppy, it was supposed to be a retreat full of horse rides and hoedowns—with a side of showing Will what he’s been missing all these years. But as the snow deepens outside, the guests’ suspicion and mistrust turn sinister inside, catching Will and Poppy in the crosshairs.

Weathering the storm in each other’s arms is all too easy for Will and Poppy, but will a confrontation with a killer mean their reunion is short-lived?


The Review: 3.5 Stars

Poppy was freaking adorable. Can I have her as a bestie please?
And of-course the chef here (did that for 13 years) absolutely loved all the food references. BJ Daniels did a great job on that front and Poppy came across as a fantastic chef. Lucky Will :)
I though her plan to get back at Will although very unrealistic was charming and sweet. And when it worked? it was funny and captivating.
Will was also a great character. But boy was he unlucky... there was a lot going wrong at the same time. I don't feel like we got to know him all that well, he was always running because of one problem or other.

The crime and suspense plot was just ridiculous. But the kind of ridiculous you can't help but laugh and like. It made no sense, it was too far fetching, and at times a little predictable. But that is crime fiction most of the time... or at least that is how I feel about it.

Although the plot was a tad nuts that is not the reason I can't give 5 stars. I can't because the crime side of the story was more prominent than the romance. In the end I didn't feel like I read a romance novel but rather crime fiction that just so happens to have a 'main couple'. Now, I know exactly which friend of mine will love that (yes, talking about you Megan), but that is not my thing and hasn't been since I was a teen.

Book Release Date: February 19th
Find it at: GoodReads - Amazon

*Stroke of luck was kindly provided by the publisher via Instagram in exchange for a bookstagram post.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.