Skip to main content

The Shadowglass (The Bone Witch #3) by Rin Chupeco [arc review]

Whenever you really love a series it is really difficult to write a review for the last book. It is no different here. I stumbled upon The Bone Witch by accident when the arcs were first going out and the second I finished the book I requested an arc for the second one. I really enjoyed the book. 
The second bookThe Hear Forger, is going to be one of my favorite YA fantasy reads for a long time still. I reread my favorite passages before diving into the last one, had to be done.
And so, it is with a heavy heart I say goodbye to The Bone Witch series.
Blurb for The Shadowglass:

The dramatic finale to The Bone Witch series! Tea's dark magic eats away at her, but she must save the one she loves most, even while her life—and the kingdoms—are on the brink of destruction.
In the Eight Kingdoms, none have greater strength or influence than the asha, who hold elemental magic. But only a bone witch has the power to raise the dead. Tea has used this dark magic to breathe life into those she has loved and lost...and those who would join her army against the deceitful royals. But Tea's quest to conjure a shadowglass, to achieve immortality for the one person she loves most in the world, threatens to consume her.
Tea's heartsglass only grows darker with each new betrayal. Her work with the monstrous azi, her thirst for retribution, her desire to unmask the Faceless—they all feed the darkrot that is gradually consuming her heartsglass. She is haunted by blackouts and strange visions, and when she wakes with blood on her hands, Tea must answer to a power greater than the elder asha or even her conscience. Tea's life—and the fate of the kingdoms—hangs in the balance.

3.5 Stars

The other reason why it is hard to write this review is that I didn't love the book anywhere near as much as I loved the other two. Now, my dear Sansei @pikamikareads cleverly pointed out that is often the case on the last book of a favorite series. I have to agree... 

But let's start with the good. 
Kalen and Tea are forever going to one one of my favorite romantic YA couples. Often in YA the main couples are full on teen drama who fight over everything and forget about everything they were fighting the second their lips touch. It can be rather superficial. Tea and Kalen do not fit that mold at all. Their relationship is one of complete trust, devotion, and yes, heated kisses and all that wonderful stuff too. You know from the end of the very first book what will happen to Kalen, it doesn't make it any less emotional. Every moment these two were on the pages of the book together was beautifully written and a joy to read.

Khalad is also a character I have come to love in the Heart Forger. His trust in Tea and his relationship with Likh were well written. Regardless of what you may think about Likh's sexuality you have to give credit to Rin Chupeco for writing amazing realistic characters. Also, at no point it sounded like she was trying to push an agenda on the reader, I am truly grateful for that. It drives me nuts when authors write diverse characters just to get a particular community to read it. Chupeco wrote Likh's and Khalad's story beautifully and flawlessly. 

Here is however were my appreciation for this last book ends. Although the writing was once again absolutely exquisite- Rin Chupeco is a master of her art-, the book felt short. The book was 'wordy', and not in  a good way. There was a lot of political jargon and historical information that didn't really impact the story and that was therefore unnecessary. The first 40% of the book bored me to death.
The two twists at the end were rather dull. When I found out who has  been betraying them all along I felt nothing. That shouldn't be the case. 
As I sit here and try to remember what happened in the book my mind goes blank. Not because nothing happened but because I could tell you all -but the end- just by reading books one and two. 

So... did I like the book? Sure. Tea, Kalen, Khalad, Likh, Zoya, and some of the new players were interesting and easy to love. 
But the book could have either been shorter or have had more of those sweet personal moments between beloved characters instead of all the political and historical jargon.

Release Date: March 5th, 2019
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation