Skip to main content

B & E Ever After (Fairy Tale Quartet #3) by Linda Kage [arc review]

The Fairy Tale Quartet by Linda Kage is a wonderful adult fairy tale retelling series. Monster Among the Roses will be my ultimate favorite Beauty and the Beast retelling for a very long time still, if not forever and always! (Review Here). Book 2, Kissing the Boss, a Cinderella retelling, was just as good (Review Here). And  now I am happy to say that B & E Ever After was also a fantastic. I don't know much or like Hansel and Gretel's story, so that is saying something!


Blurb:
A contemporary Hansel and Gretel Romance.

Gretel, er, I mean, Gabriella Salazar finds temptation and desperation to be too great and breaks into a wicked witch’s—uh, that is—a pretentious, rich woman’s condo, only to discover she’s not the only one with a B & E fetish. The twist is that the mysterious, handsome Hansel to her Gretel who has also stolen into the same apartment is anything but brotherly, and the two strangers find themselves lip-locked before the evening is over. Now Gabby and her new, aggravating accomplice must get crafty and work together to free themselves and everyone they hold dear from a mad woman’s clutches.

But breaking and entering never ends with a happily ever after…right?
 

The Review: 4 Stars

I fell in love with Linda Kage's writing while reading A Monster Among the Roses and it was no different here. Gabby and Hayden's story was captivating. The humor and the banter between these two had me entertained from beginning to end. 
I already liked Hayden in the previous book. His quiet, bossy, and strong demeanor had me at hello!
That now paired with his background story... holly mother of romance! The man is pure perfection.
Gabby was ok, I liked her sass and determination. I confess I was there all for Hayden though :) She could have been an unicorn... LOL

While I loved the story it drives me mad when different books in a series get written in the same timeline. Why? because it can easily get repetitive. So that was my one and only issue with this book. It happens in the same timeline as the previous book so some scenes were just a tad boring. I love when the old characters grace the page, but I prefer when is in their future. 
So that is a negative but it is also a matter of opinion and taste... it might not bother you at all!



Go read! Find these amazing books at: 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.