Skip to main content

How to Catch a Wicked Viscount (The Disreputable Debutantes #1) by Amy Rose Bennett (Goodreads Author), Sienna Francis (Narrator) [arc review]

How to Catch a Wicked Viscount, Amy Rose Bennett @glimpses_of_my_books
This was my very first book by Amy Rose Bennett and I would imagine that the fact I am already looking forward to the upcoming books in this series says it all! 
It wasn't perfect, but I did love it!

Blurb:
A young lady's tarnished reputation might cost her everything in this first book in the Disreputable Debutantes series.

Shy, bookish Sophie Brightwell is expected to make an advantageous match to improve her family's fortunes. However, Sophie's plans to make a spectacular debut go horribly awry when she and her three closest friends are expelled from a young ladies' academy for unbecoming conduct. Since the ton will be sure to close their doors on these disgraced debutantes, they determine that unconventional means need to be employed in the husband-hunting market. Rakehells—the beau monde's wickedest members—might be the only men willing to overlook a young lady's besmirched reputation.

But how does one catch a rake?

Nate Hastings, the devil-may-care Viscount Malverne, is the older brother of Sophie’s best friend, fellow disgraced debutante Lady Charlotte. When a terribly foxed Nate accidentally compromises Sophie, Charlotte strikes a wicked bargain: in order to avoid a scandal and the parson's mousetrap, Nate must help Sophie snare a husband. But as Nate fulfills his obligation and begins to instruct the lovely Sophie in the art of luring rakes, he soon finds himself battling his own fierce attraction to her.
 

The Review: 4 Stars

I confess that for a while there I wasn't sure I would end up liking the book or not. Nate and his friends were rather childish in the beginning of the book. One would expect behavior like theirs from 17 year olds not from grown man. It also took a long time for any sort of relationship to develop between Nate and Sophie and I was getting rather inpatient with it. 

As the story progressed however I couldn't help but smile. Sophie was adorable and even though Nate is indeed a rake he is in his on way rather adorable too, specially towards the end. 
It took Nate a while to see that Sophie was perfect for him and that deeply disturbed him. It was good to get to see not just how she was feeling but also his feelings. 
Sophie's sweetness and innocence paired with her willingness to try something new and rather scandalous in that time period, be with her wonderful friends or with Nate, made her an interesting and captivating character to read. It also made her perfect for the roguish but good hearted Nate. He just needed a little push.... something his sister was more than willing to give. 

Both Nate's and Sophie's friends were captivating. The author did a great a job of giving us just enough on them to keep us curious and wanting more. I genuinely cannot wait for the next book in the series.

Last but certainly not least it should also be mentioned that the narrator, Sienna Francis, did a fantastic job. The intonation she used for one particularly creepy character had me laughing at how perfect it was! Great work!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation