Skip to main content

How to Catch a Wicked Viscount (The Disreputable Debutantes #1) by Amy Rose Bennett (Goodreads Author), Sienna Francis (Narrator) [arc review]

How to Catch a Wicked Viscount, Amy Rose Bennett @glimpses_of_my_books
This was my very first book by Amy Rose Bennett and I would imagine that the fact I am already looking forward to the upcoming books in this series says it all! 
It wasn't perfect, but I did love it!

Blurb:
A young lady's tarnished reputation might cost her everything in this first book in the Disreputable Debutantes series.

Shy, bookish Sophie Brightwell is expected to make an advantageous match to improve her family's fortunes. However, Sophie's plans to make a spectacular debut go horribly awry when she and her three closest friends are expelled from a young ladies' academy for unbecoming conduct. Since the ton will be sure to close their doors on these disgraced debutantes, they determine that unconventional means need to be employed in the husband-hunting market. Rakehells—the beau monde's wickedest members—might be the only men willing to overlook a young lady's besmirched reputation.

But how does one catch a rake?

Nate Hastings, the devil-may-care Viscount Malverne, is the older brother of Sophie’s best friend, fellow disgraced debutante Lady Charlotte. When a terribly foxed Nate accidentally compromises Sophie, Charlotte strikes a wicked bargain: in order to avoid a scandal and the parson's mousetrap, Nate must help Sophie snare a husband. But as Nate fulfills his obligation and begins to instruct the lovely Sophie in the art of luring rakes, he soon finds himself battling his own fierce attraction to her.
 

The Review: 4 Stars

I confess that for a while there I wasn't sure I would end up liking the book or not. Nate and his friends were rather childish in the beginning of the book. One would expect behavior like theirs from 17 year olds not from grown man. It also took a long time for any sort of relationship to develop between Nate and Sophie and I was getting rather inpatient with it. 

As the story progressed however I couldn't help but smile. Sophie was adorable and even though Nate is indeed a rake he is in his on way rather adorable too, specially towards the end. 
It took Nate a while to see that Sophie was perfect for him and that deeply disturbed him. It was good to get to see not just how she was feeling but also his feelings. 
Sophie's sweetness and innocence paired with her willingness to try something new and rather scandalous in that time period, be with her wonderful friends or with Nate, made her an interesting and captivating character to read. It also made her perfect for the roguish but good hearted Nate. He just needed a little push.... something his sister was more than willing to give. 

Both Nate's and Sophie's friends were captivating. The author did a great a job of giving us just enough on them to keep us curious and wanting more. I genuinely cannot wait for the next book in the series.

Last but certainly not least it should also be mentioned that the narrator, Sienna Francis, did a fantastic job. The intonation she used for one particularly creepy character had me laughing at how perfect it was! Great work!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.