Skip to main content

Frost and Flame (Gods of War #2) by Gena Showalter [arc review]


Another intense Paranormal romance by the fabulous Gena Showalter!


From Gena Showalter, the New York Times bestselling author of the Lords of the Underworld saga, comes Frost and Flame , the second book in the scorching paranormal romance series Gods of War.


Bane of Adwaeweth is the most feared immortal warrior in All War history. Possessed by a bloodthirsty beast, he will stop at nothing to win. Then he meets irresistible Nola Lee. He hates the power she wields over him, but she alone can rain vengeance upon his wife’s killer.


Unaware of her destiny to rule as queen of beasts, Nola battles illness, addiction and vulnerability. With Bane, however, she experiences pleasure for the first time, and only wants more. But being with him comes with a terrible price.



With enemies lurking around every corner, Bane and Nola must fight to survive. But time is running out, and neither can resist the sizzling attraction blazing between them. Will their romance save the beast and his beauty, or destroy everything they’ve come to love? 

Book Review: 3 Stars
Sadly I cannot say Frost and Flame was as good as Shadow and Ice. In my mind, it almost doesn’t compare.
Bane and Nola kept ‘playing’ this game of ‘want you-don’t want you’ during most of the book. Although some tension is welcoming on a romance trope like that, this was a little too much. It made some sections of the book rather tedious. 
I also didn’t appreciate that it had the exact same timeline as Shadow and Ice. Yes, it was nice knowing what happened to Nola while Knox and Vale’s arc was developing, but this replayed every single scene that involved Vale and Know with Nola and/or Bane, just of-course from Nola’s and Bane’s perspective. In some occasions that was interesting, in others it made the story repetitive. I found myself skimming a good part of the book. 
All that being said, it was another great book by Gena Showalter. Bane’s character and his past experiences were touching, relatable, and made him easy to love.
Nola was also an interesting character, brave and strong in her own way. Her body may be frail because of her illnesses but her mind and determination most certainly are not.

Nola and Bane truly are perfect for each other. There was plenty of passion and chemistry between them and their personalities fit perfectly.
I may not have loved this one as much as the first book in the series, but I still liked it a lot and will most certainly be reading the next one. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation