Skip to main content

Forever and a Duke (Rogues to Riches #3) by Grace Burrowes

Forever and a Duke, Grace Burrowes. Pic by @glimpses_of_my_books
Where to begin? Grace Burrowes is a master of her craft. If historical romance is something you enjoy reading she is one of those authors that can never fail. On top of that, The Rogues and Riches series happens to be a favorite of mine. Needless to say, I loved the book :)
Blurb:
Wrexham, Duke of Elsmore, is overrun by family obligations. With three sisters to escort about Town, a legion of cousins to look after, and aunties who insist he dance with every eligible young woman, he barely has time to manage his dukedom. When he finally carves out a moment to evaluate his family's finances, he learns that he―and his sisters―are on the verge of social catastrophe.

Eleanora Hatfield has an uncanny knack for numbers, but she knows from experience that dealing with the peerage can only lead to problems. Though she wants nothing to do with any titled gentleman, she reluctantly agrees to help when Rex seeks aid from her employer. What starts out as an unwanted assignment soon leads to forbidden kisses and impossible longings. But with scandal haunting Ellie's past and looming in Rex's future, how can true love lead to anything but heartbreak?

The Review: 3.9 Stars
I know 3.9 sounds petty, but I gave the first book 4 and I certainly prefer it to this one. 
So petty if you must... but also fair!

There are many things that make this a great story, and although the book can easily be read as a stand alone, I confess that one of my favorite things about Forever and a Duke were the short but oh so lovely scenes with Quinn and his lovely wife (My one and Only Duke)! 

Eleanora's tenacity, strength, and intelligence is to be respected. Life has not always treated her well but she has done and continues to do all she can to leave it behind her. She works hard to be respected for what she does and is brilliant at it. It is difficult not to be impressed by her and so it is understandable that Rex was taken by her.

Rex snuck up on me. I wasn't sure what to think about him to start. His relationship and blind trust on his family seemed a little misplaced to me and a tad strange. But as Eleanora and so me, the reader, gets to know him falling in love is inevitable. He is loyal, trustworthy, gentle, but also a fighter. I liked how he dealt with things in the end and appreciated him for it. 

The only negative is that it got a little long at times. I don't particularly enjoy when things get repeated too often and we got to go over Rex's finances a few times too many. A third POV was added as well, although I understand why the author did it I can't say I enjoyed it.
But those are small details, they were in no way bad enough to make me want to stop reading.
This was another great historical romance by Grace Burrowes and it will undoubtedly make to the list of 2019 favorites.

Go Read Sunnies!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation