Skip to main content

Happy Singles Day by Ann Marie Walker [arc review]

How do you feel about holiday reads? or small town/seaside novels? Happy Singles Day reminds me of the easy to read novels that came out every Christmas and of small town seaside novels. 

Paige, a Certified Professional Organizer in Chicago has everything in her life in order. After one very bad experience with her ex and her old boss she started her own company and is very successful. But, she is in desperate need of a holiday. The perfect opportunity appears after she clicks on an ad for Happy Singles Day. What better time to go away? Because who needs  a man? Certainly not Paige. 

Once Paige arrives at the small sea side town in the middle of nowhere she soon realizes things are not as they appeared on the website. For starters, there are no cars in town. She needs to get on a bike to get to the B&B. Once she does get to the B&B it looks like someone's house, with crap all over and definitely not set for the peaceful holiday week she was looking for. On top of that, the guy at the door is rude and unwelcoming. She turns back on her heel, and because she is lucky like that, a storm comes in. She has no choice but to return to the B&B and ask for a room back. 

What Paige doesn't know is that the ad was set by Lucas (the moody guy at the door) sister's. Ever since his wife died and left him a single dad he has been struggling to keep the house afloat and has not taken any guests. When Paige arrived he had just found out about his sister's doing and although he is not happy about it, his sister is right. He has bills and taxes to pay, he needs to start using the B&B again. Though a little more warning from his sister so he could get the place cleaned up (since it is his house with his little daughter as well as a B&B) that would have been great. A rude 'city slicker' lady as a first guest back in operation did not help.

As their worlds collide and they are forced to spend time together Lucas finds Paige is not as obnoxious as he first thought. She is bossy and a little OCD, but she is also kind and sweet. And Paige finds Lucas is not that rude. Maybe at first, but mostly he is a man in pain with a little too much on his plate.

A storm, an animal rescue, and a sea shell expedition with Lucas' little girl later, and the chemistry between them becomes undeniable. But can two people from very different worlds be anything more than just friends?

Overall, a very sweet and clean romance read appropriate for all ages and tastes. If it wasn't for it having older characters, you could easily find this story in the Young Adult romance section. There is some humor, some drama, and a beautiful love story. So why not 5? Because I personally need my romance books to have a little more grit, a little more passion, a little more of a connection between the main characters. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.