Skip to main content

Someday My Duke Will Come (Isle of Synne #2) by Christina Britton [arc review]


How good was this book you ask? Good enough that I am ordering the first book in the series immediately. Hello Christina Britton, nice to meet you, and welcome to my 'must read everything she writes' list. It's a short list, specially for historical romances. Although I enjoy the stories, I also often find them tedious to read and it takes me a week or two to get through one book. Which to some is normal, to me it is not. I like taking about 3 days per book. How along did it take me to read this one? 2 glorious days. And so, 5 glorious stars to Someday My Duke Will Come!

Blurb:

A fake engagement becomes the real thing in the next book in the series New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes calls "first-rate Regency fun!"

Lady Clara Ashford's world changed fifteen years ago at the hands of a rogue who took her innocence. Determined never to give into temptation again, she settles into a life as caregiver for her family. With her younger sister recently engaged and about to embark on a life of her own, Clara feels adrift and without purpose―until Quincy, the new Duke of Reigate, arrives on her doorstep in need of a fake fiancĂ©e.

When Quincy Nesbitt unexpectedly inherits a dukedom, he's determined to do his best by the title. One thing he won't do? Marry a woman he's never met just because she was engaged to his older brother. So, he enlists Lady Clara's help, since he can't marry another when he's engaged to her. But as they pretend for the ton, Quincy finds himself falling for real. Now, he just has to convince Lady Clara to take a chance on him.
 

Those first few lines put together by Grace Burrowes are what made me pick up the book and read. Do you remember that small list of  "must read everything she writes' I mentioned? When it comes to historical romances, Grace Burrowes is at the very top of that list. I was hoping that since she endorsed it it would be fabulous, and it was!

Lady Clara was sweet and lovable. The kind of women I would happily have as a best friend and call upon in a time of need. Someone you can rely one and is always brave. 

Quincy has a heart of gold. The blurb did not prepared me for the first few pages of the book and the heartbreak he goes through as a young boy. I wanted to hold him. To comfort him.

Needless to say, both main characters were very relatable and easy to love. They were perfect for each other. They made each other stronger, and all around better people. Their fake engagement gave them the perfect opportunity to spend time together and get to know each other better. During those days Quincy thought Clara how to have fun and smile freely, to let go of control. And Clara thought him to love and to trust. 

The secondary characters were all fun and engaging. Christina Britton created a cast of characters you can't help but love and want to know better. Quincy's best friend, Peter, is loyal and caring. I cannot wait to read his book- the first book in the series: A Good Duke is Hard to Find. 

In short, GO READ!

Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop - GoodReads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.