Skip to main content

The Fallen Angel Trilogy by Kim Loraine

Waking the Watcher
Denying the Watcher
Releasing the Watcher

This serieswas a fun paranormal and erotica trilogy. Each book focuses on a different couple but the
background story on the first two books gets resolved in book 3, and as such, the series should
not be read out of order. The background story is Sariel’s, an angel who fell from heaven when
he chose to stay on earth with the woman he fell in love with instead of being a ‘watcher’ for
God. His job was to watch, not to interact and interfere. When he fell, so did hundreds of others
hoping to find the same kind of love that he did. Some did, some are now under the influence of
Lucifer. Sariel’s love died not long after he fell -during the flood- and he has spent thousands of
years dormant with no body of his own inside the mind of others.
On book one he wakes up. He believes that the vampire whose body he is inhabiting has found
the reincarnation of his mate. But is she his mate, or is she the vampire’s mate and he is just
confusing the vampire’s feelings with his own after being dormant for so long?
SPOILERS AHEAD
On book two he is inhabiting the body of Galen’s (vampire on book one) best friend, Devin.
Devin wants a chance to get his soul back and not end up in hell when he finally dies. They
have a deal: Devin gets 5 more years on earth doing whatever he wants without the interference
of the fallen angel in his head, and when the 5 years are up, he gives control to Sariel. During
that time both fallen angel and vampire must fight with the army of God to eradicate or redeem
the other fallen angels.
Needless to say things don’t go according to plan. Devin finds his mate. But so does Sariel.
And in book 3, we finally get Sariel’s story!
We get glimpses into who he was and the time he fell intertwined with the present. The
reincarnation of his mate is not just in love with another man, she is engaged to be married.
Angel Gabriel warns him to leave them alone, to not risk her and his soul, but can he?
Overall I really liked this series. I wasn’t sure to start, it was a little odd. But after a while, that is
what I liked about it the most. It was different from any other vampire book I’ve read in the past.
The first few pages in book 1 can be a struggle. The way Gallen talks about sex and his male
parts is off putting, but if you stick with it you soon understand why. Vampires can’t have sex.
Hundreds of years stuck. That changes if you have an awake watcher in you, which happens
when Gallen meets his mate. The chemistry between them was on point and a fun read. A
definite 4 stars. Book 2 was 3 stars for me. Although I liked all the characters there was a lot of
sex for the sake of it with no chemistry to speak of. I don’t like that, not even in erotica. And the
last book was no doubt my favorite. We get to know Sariel pretty well in the first two books and it
is hard not to feel for him.
I would give the series a 4 stars overall :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation