Skip to main content

The Rogue of Fifth Avenue (Uptown Girls #1) by Joanna Shupe


The Rogue of fifth Avenue truly was a delightful read. I was entertained and captivated by it from begining to end.
Often historical romances feel rather long and can get a tad boring in the middle. This one was actually a rather fast read.
Frank Tripp worked hard to get where he is in his life.Someone from his background
(which the keeps hidden at all costs) does not become a lawyer for the upper class easily. Duncan Greene, one of his most powerful clients could destroy him easily.
So it is in his best interest to Keep Duncan's daughter safe as he finds her in male stablishments only (such as casinos) way past a ladies bedtime. Again and again he has to escort Miss Greene back home. He doesn't tell her father of her excursions though... he rather likes sparing with her.
Mamie is a spitfire of a lady. She does what she wants, when she wants, and Frank Tripp is not going to get in the way- either by protecting her when she does not need protection, or by telling her father of her outings. She is to marry soon, to a man her father promised her to long ago.
She has to help others and do the most she can now.
As the two get to know each other it becames quickly obvious that they are attracted to each other. The question is who is seducing who and will all this seducing backfire?
I really enjoyed the banter and the time they spent together. Tripp's character specially was rather touching and it was wonderful to see him grow and become a better man.
Go read!
Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.