Skip to main content

Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changeling #1) by Nalini Singh

I started this series somewhat backwards. Silver Silence is the first book in a spin-off series for Psy-
Changeling
 and was the first book I've read. But, being a spin-off, it is also book 16 in the series! It was also my first book by Nalini Singh, who has since than become one of my all time favorite paranormal romance writers.

I've been meaning to go and read her older books it is been a while, but you readers know how it goes: the TBR is never ending. It took 2 years but here we are. I own almost the whole series and I will eventually get through them.

To start, this book very much reminded me of Silver Silence. A psy and a shifter. But as the story progressed it took a life of its own. My favorite thing about it is that Nalini somehow managed to create a whole new world without making the book unnecessarily long. Rather often the first book in a new paranormal/fantasy series is long in order to explain the new world created. I felt she did that nicely and timely throughout the book in between the many heartfelt moments.

Before we get to the main event: the lead characters, I gotta say I loved all the side characters. A lot of love and care was put in writing them. I have a huge soft spot for shifters- their alphaness, their sense of  loyalty, family, of love... and all of it was beautifully written. My only complaint is that I now want a group of loyal friends like that around me. I mean, I have them, but they are all so far (having moved countries 4 times does that). 

Sascha is our main girl. She is a psy, psy are meant to have no emotions, no anger, no love, no pain, nothing. But Sascha, she feels things, things she doesn't understand and knows she will be punished if the other psys ever find out.

Lucas is a shapeshifter, both human and animal. He does not like the psy but understand that just like there are good and bad shifters, there are good and bad psy. As he gets to know Sascha he is more and more convinced both that she is not like the other psy, that she feels things, and that she is one of the good ones.

Girls are dying, being found murdered. And Lucas knows it is a psy doing it. Makes no sense, they are not meant to feel anything, but the scent is undistinguishable. It is a psy. 

Sascha believes she is broken and soon going to either be put to death or have her mind turn into mush by the psy when they figure out her faults. But if she can save one life before she dies, she will most certainly try. And if she can feel thigs while doing it, more specifically Lucas, why not? 

5 glorious Stars!

Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop - Nalini Singh - GoodReads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.