Skip to main content

Highlander Ever After (The MacGregors: Highland Heirs #8) by Paula Quinn [arc review]

I don't often read historical romances, but I am most definitely reading the other 7 books in this series now! This was phenomenal- Enchanting from beginning to end!
It will definitely go on the list of favorites for the year (working on that post at the moment). I started reading this beauty while my kiddos where taking a nap and I proceeded to ignore them for the rest of the day 🤣 I just needed to know the rest! (on my defense I work from home and my kids usually get a lot of my attention)

Highlander Ever After by Paula Quinn. Pic by @glimpses_of_my_books
The Blurb:

They tried to resist a marriage of convenience...
As the clan chief's son, Adam MacGregor is duty-bound to marry a royal heir. Yet when he meets his bride—a beautiful but haughty young lass who thinks he is nothing more than a common savage—he realizes she's more than he bargained for. But the more Adam gets to know his new wife, the more intent he is on proving her wrong about him.

But can they resist each other?
Sina de Arenberg wants nothing to do with the unsavory MacGregors, especially the fierce Highlander she now calls husband. But the more time she spends with the man she married, the more she sees his honor and courage. Just when she thinks there might be a future for her and Adam, Sina is called back to court. England isn't the place she remembers, though, and soon she'll be forced to choose between the life she once knew, and the Highlander who has captured her heart.


5 Stars is not Enough!

I don't even know where to start! Everything about it was perfection. The writing was flawless, the pace of the story was just right, the main characters had chemistry and were easy to connect, the side characters were interesting but did not monopolize the story, the setting was on point... everything was just right! I am a newbie to Paula Quinn (yes, I know that is a crime. My fellow romance lovers remind me of that constantly) but needless to say I have already added the whole series to my tbr on GoodReads and will be looking at her other books soon too.

Sina was very annoying to start, but she had every right to be, who wouldn't in her shoes? Being forced to marry someone you never met when you were in fact promised to a man you are in love with is a difficult thing to come to terms with. Annoying however does not mean unlikable, she was a character that even though often got on your nerves you couldn't help but love. As she comes to terms with her new reality her attitude towards the wonderful people around her change and the story unfolds into a beautiful, romantic, and enchanting tale!

Adam was likable from the very start. He did not want this marriage either but he accepts it a lot faster than she does. It is easier for him, he didn't have to leave his home and family and can for the most part carry on as he was before. He tries to be understanding and caring with Sina, even when she does not deserve it. He is respectful, honest, noble. It is impossible not to fall for him, and Sina eventually comes to terms with that last bit too. 

The side characters were all wonderful and I am looking forward to reading some of their stories. It is good to point out though that although I want and will read the previous books in this series I never felt like I was missing something, you can most definitely happily read this book without having read the other 7. I sure did! :) 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Kobo - Amazon - Barnes and Noble 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.