Skip to main content

Rock Rebel (Nothing But Trouble #3) by Tara Leigh [arc review]

I have a soft spot for Rock Star Romances. Stage Dive by Kylie Scott and Sixth Street Band Series by Jayne Frost are some of my favorite contemporary romances. So needless to say when the author Tara Leigh told me I could sign up to read this arc I jumped at the opportunity. And now I have another Rock Star Romance book to love... Rock Rebel is the third book in the series, and although I have not yet read the other two it didn't impact the story in a bad way. Much the contrary, I am dying of curiosity about the other boys and must read the previous books! 


Rock Rebel, Tara Leigh. Pic by @glimpses_of_my_books
The blurb:
He's a rock star with a secret; she's a pop princess with a painful past, can their forbidden romance survive, or will their lies destroy them both?

I've earned my bad reputation.

A few years ago, I was New York City's hottest classical music prodigy. But I wanted something else, something more. So I chased my real dream, and now... I'm rock royalty. Dax Hughes, lead guitarist of Nothing but Trouble. But to my family and former Juilliard classmates, I'm an outcast. A misfit. A rebel.

They're not entirely wrong. I don't give a damn what other people think, and I'm all for breaking the rules... except when it comes to our new opening act, Verity Moore.

Rock gods don't tour with pop princesses.

It's not personal. Actually, under that fallen diva reputation, Verity's incredibly talented. And her fiery redheaded personality is... intriguing. But I'm convinced the skeletons in Verity's closet are as scandalous as my own, and when we're not sparring, she has a way of drawing out all those secrets I'm determined to keep hidden.

Yeah. Verity Moore is definitely off-limits . . .
But since when do I give a damn about the rules?


3.8 Stars


Rock Rebel was a very captivating story. Verity and Dax had my attention from beginning to end. 
Verity was a flawed character, but also someone that was wronged in life and is trying to built her life back up again. 
Dax is also a flawed character, and I think that is why those two fit together so perfectly. Verity makes him want to move on from his past and choose happiness again. 
I genuinely liked the book, and as I said I will be reading the others. The main characters had chemistry, understood each other and cared for each other deeply. The side characters were phenomenal and I can't wait to read their stories too.
The book was however a little slow at times, which always makes me drop a few points.
The other reason for it not being a 5 star read is that I like my books to be a escape from the real world and this was obviously written with the #metoo  movement in mind. It was well done and I appreciate both the movement and what the author tried to do here, it is just not my personal preference to mix fiction with the real world. Liking to admit it or not, when that happens I often 'zone out' in the middle of the story and don't connect to the characters as much.



Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.