Skip to main content

Rock Rebel (Nothing But Trouble #3) by Tara Leigh [arc review]

I have a soft spot for Rock Star Romances. Stage Dive by Kylie Scott and Sixth Street Band Series by Jayne Frost are some of my favorite contemporary romances. So needless to say when the author Tara Leigh told me I could sign up to read this arc I jumped at the opportunity. And now I have another Rock Star Romance book to love... Rock Rebel is the third book in the series, and although I have not yet read the other two it didn't impact the story in a bad way. Much the contrary, I am dying of curiosity about the other boys and must read the previous books! 


Rock Rebel, Tara Leigh. Pic by @glimpses_of_my_books
The blurb:
He's a rock star with a secret; she's a pop princess with a painful past, can their forbidden romance survive, or will their lies destroy them both?

I've earned my bad reputation.

A few years ago, I was New York City's hottest classical music prodigy. But I wanted something else, something more. So I chased my real dream, and now... I'm rock royalty. Dax Hughes, lead guitarist of Nothing but Trouble. But to my family and former Juilliard classmates, I'm an outcast. A misfit. A rebel.

They're not entirely wrong. I don't give a damn what other people think, and I'm all for breaking the rules... except when it comes to our new opening act, Verity Moore.

Rock gods don't tour with pop princesses.

It's not personal. Actually, under that fallen diva reputation, Verity's incredibly talented. And her fiery redheaded personality is... intriguing. But I'm convinced the skeletons in Verity's closet are as scandalous as my own, and when we're not sparring, she has a way of drawing out all those secrets I'm determined to keep hidden.

Yeah. Verity Moore is definitely off-limits . . .
But since when do I give a damn about the rules?


3.8 Stars


Rock Rebel was a very captivating story. Verity and Dax had my attention from beginning to end. 
Verity was a flawed character, but also someone that was wronged in life and is trying to built her life back up again. 
Dax is also a flawed character, and I think that is why those two fit together so perfectly. Verity makes him want to move on from his past and choose happiness again. 
I genuinely liked the book, and as I said I will be reading the others. The main characters had chemistry, understood each other and cared for each other deeply. The side characters were phenomenal and I can't wait to read their stories too.
The book was however a little slow at times, which always makes me drop a few points.
The other reason for it not being a 5 star read is that I like my books to be a escape from the real world and this was obviously written with the #metoo  movement in mind. It was well done and I appreciate both the movement and what the author tried to do here, it is just not my personal preference to mix fiction with the real world. Liking to admit it or not, when that happens I often 'zone out' in the middle of the story and don't connect to the characters as much.



Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b