Skip to main content

The Studying Hours (How to Date a Douchebag #1) by Sara Ney

*adult content*

What on earth did I just read?
There are douchebags, and than there is Oz and Zeke. They are on a level of their own. It was seriously hate at first sight. So how I ask, how exactly did it happen, that I am also 100% in love with said douchebags? Either I have a problem or Sara Ney has magical powers. This can't be normal. 
How to Date a Douchebag, Sara Ney
Blurb:
CRUDE. ARROGANT. A**HOLE. 
No doubt about it, Sebastian ‘Oz’ Osborne is the university’s most celebrated student athlete—and possibly the biggest douchebag. A walking, talking cliché, he has a filthy mouth, a fantastic body, and doesn’t give a sh*t about what you or anyone else thinks. 

SMART. CLASSY. CONSERVATIVE. 
Make no mistake, Jameson Clarke may be the university’s most diligent student—but she is no prude. Spending most of her time in the hallowed halls of the library, James is wary of pervs, jocks, and douchebags—and Oz Osborne is all three. 

She’s smart, sarcastic—and not what he expected. 

…EVERY DOUCHBAG HAS HIS WEAKNESS. 

He wants to be friends. 
He wants to spend time with her. 
He wants to drive her crazy. 

He wants… 

Her.


5 Stars


It is exactly as the blurb says. Oz is a crude, arrogant a** hole. The worst. I was way past the half point on the book and I still wanted to puke at some of his thoughts and actions. There can be no doubt of what kind of character Sara Ney was trying to write. The guy would probably sleep with anything that moves and has boobs. Man whore with capital M. After some days away with Jameson when you think he is gonna act better he stills smiles at some random woman in order to not burn his chances if he comes to need it later. WTF? Seriously people, this guy did not win points with me until the last f***ing pages. He was disgraceful. 

Studying hard and dressing appropriately not a saint makes, and Jameson makes sure our friend here knows it. That being said, Jameson did not have a chance in hell. The second she agreed to the bet she was lost. 

I loved the banter between them. Jameson made Oz work for it. She was sassy, clever and hilarious. And because she made him work for it they developed a really neat friendship. 

I am still not sure how and when or again how Oz won me over. But he did... don't go in thinking he changes, he doesn't. His love declaration to her in the end is proof of that. I didn't know if I should laugh or strangle him, in the end I laughed. He is, in his own maverick way, kind of adorable.

This is probably were my opinion of him started to shift a little- but JUST a little:
"But the real reason I want you to stay? You're the only girl on this campus I have any respect for."  

I already ordered the other books. His friend Zeke was even worse than him. I fear the book will drive me to insanity... but those are the best books right? the ones that provoke emotion. So yah... I kind of hate the man you write Sara... but I can't stop reading either... cause I kind of love them too... 

*face palms herself repeatedly*
GoodBye folks

Best quote: "A little friendly advice? Never judge a girl by her cardigan."

Find the book at: Amazon - Barnes and Noble - GoodReads



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.