Skip to main content

Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill- 3 stars

This was not a bad book, but it wasn't a great book either (Synopsis at the end of this post).

The First half of the book is very slow! Britta, the main character, spends at least 80% of the book somewhere in a forest with Cohen at her side running from the King's guards. 
The romance between the two is very frustrating. She loves him and thinks he doesn't love her (only an idiot wouldn't know that was untrue) and that goes on and on until almost the end of the book. I felt like I read the exact same thing again an again a million times. This was the single most annoying romance story I've read in a very long time. I hated it! 
I don't really like Britta's character at all. She is rather daft and slow to process things that should be obvious. We, the reader, guess everything way ahead of her, and that in turn makes the character and the book rather predictable. Sadly, that is not always a good thing and certainly it wasn't here.
Cohen's character is a little better, but not by much. Specially not when it is from Britta's perspective- he has muscles and smells amazing. The end. 

There is no world building. I finished the book knowing as little about the two kingdoms at war (or almost at war) as I knew at the beginning. If the romance had been really good that wouldn't have bothered me, but since it wasn't...

Towards the end of the book (I would say 2/3 in) the story picks up a little. You learn more about Cohen, about her family, about the powers she has. But to be honest, that was a little to late for me. At that point I was already tired of reading the book and ready to have it done.

And the ending is...well... not the best. I could guess everything that happened in this book while I read it and I can guess the direction the author will take on the next book too. It is rather annoying. 
I read a review somewhere that starts by asking "what does this ending mean?" and I had to laugh. Really? It is obvious! read it and you will see!

Anyway, I am sounding very harsh. So you must be wondering why 3 stars?
Well, it wasn't that bad. Slow? sure. Predictable? certainly! Terrible romance? yes and yes! 
But at the same time, I wasn't upset or annoyed at the end. The book had a very good promising premise. The actual hunting it is in all fairness well written. The first few pages were pleasurable to read. Had it been shorter and not so slow to pick up, some of he bad aspects about it would have been easier to forgive. 
It was one of those books that are just OK. Not good, not bad, just ok...


GoodReads Synopsis: 
Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.