Skip to main content

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab- 5 stars

If you have previously read my reviews (here and on instagram) you know I place great importance on the author's ability to make the reader feel completely and utterly emerged into the world he/she created regardless of how real it is or it is not. Victoria Schwab manages just that! I went to bed dreaming of a world of monsters, of brave and kind monsters that are more lovable than most humans.

The main characters have an amazing dynamic! And considering there is little to no romance in this book I would say that shows the talent of the author. That is not something easily done. Think of your favorite YA fantasy books and tell me one that is both popular and has no romance in it. Done? Bet you didn't came out with much!

The story was unique and intriguing. I don't really have any other book with even a similar story line. The book is set in a world were two forces are against each other and monsters are a real threat in between the two. What makes it unique is that it portrays humans as sometimes worse than the worse monsters, a comparison that I am sure does not goes lost in any reader today.
The book is gory, it doesn't shy away from what monsters do/eat 😉 It is not off putting in way, its well written. I have read this last year and the only other book I could use as an example here is The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. Not the story, they are very different books, but the way both authors manage to maintain beauty amidst blood shed!

August character is beautifully written, complex, dynamic, dimensional and relatable. He may be a monster but his struggles are very much struggles many of us face. I adore her representation of his issues with sensory overload. It is not an issue touched often (if ever) and it was very well portrayed. He is a monster and wishes he wasn't, but as the book progresses it is that side of him that marvels the reader. If he wasn't a monster ... (well, I will let you read and find out 😊)
Kate is rather interesting! She is bitter and cruel. She very much wants to be evil. And she succeeds for the most part too. The things she did to impress her evil dad are nasty. But, wanting to be cruel and actually being cruel are different things. She is just a lonely kid wanting her family to love her. How many kids out there can relate to that? To wanting to be loved? To having parents too busy working and not having enough time for them? The amount of kids who end up in trouble simply to get their parents attention is grand, and in the end of the day, that is who Kate is (with the exception that her dad IS evil and getting his attention requires a lot more than a few tantrums!)

Go read!

GoodReads:
There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwaba young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. 

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b