Skip to main content

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern- 2.5 stars

I am very glad I still had The Sun is Also a Star in my mind when the year started. It would have been rather sad to start the year with a disappointing book. Sadly, that is the category The Night Circus occupies in my mind.
Now, before I rant about all the things that were wrong with it (it will be a rather long rant) I shall make it plain that it wasn't all bad. Had that been the case I would never have manged to finish the book (please bare in mind I skimmed a lot of it).
The twins are rather interesting, half of the time at least. Bailey has one scene I rather enjoyed reading (it involves the fortune teller for those who have read or are yet to read), the romance although short and very unrealistic had some sweet spots...
Issue One:  I like a books with good and interesting plots that captivate from beginning to end. The world in which such plot is set and the imagery of that world and of the things around it should complement the story but never take over. The opposite is true in The Night Circus. The imagery of the circus is more important to the writer than the plot. You spend at least 80% of the book (in my humble opinion) reading about the circus, its construction, its tents and shows and magical places and only a mere 20% of it actually reading a story worthy of keeping to memory. Imagery substitutes rather than complements the plot!
I suppose that if you don't mind a very slow story, made out of way too many descriptions, you will like the book more than I did.
Issue Two: If you read the book description this is what you will get: "The circus arrives without warning... But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them both, this is a game in which only one can be left standing. Amidst the high stakes, Celia and Marco soon stumble headfirst into love, setting off a domino effect of dangerous consequences, and leaving the lives of everyone from the performers to the patrons hanging in the balance."
Sounds exciting right? I though so! Problem is, none of those statements are accurate. The book is better described like so:
"The circus arrives without warning (unless you are friends with the clock maker)...But behind the scenes a long monotonous race that gets rather tiring as the years go by takes place. Two young magicians who have no idea what game they are playing, what this slow race is about or who the other is learn to use some magic and when the circus is finally up (hundreds of pages in)...nothing changes! They are trained from childhood by 'father like' figures that are rather psychotic and unpleasant to play a game that makes no sence whatsoever. The magicians themselves will tell you that through out the book more times than you can count. Unbeknownst to them, the ones who set the game in motion believe only only competitor can be left standing, that being said, that are many ways to change that. Amidst the high stakes Celia and Marco wake up one day and decide that even though they have never met they will fall in love. It really doesn't matter that he is seeing someone else almost the whole time. Their love story is short, unrealistic and might make you doubt your sanity."
Issue Three: The intertwining timeline in the book is very disturbing. It jumps through time as well as through the characters, some that have no special place in the book. Consequently the main characters are not well developed at all. At the end of the book you know as little about them as you knew in the beginning. The book was 512 pages long and I feel like I've read a badly written short story.
There are other minor issues here and there. Like the magic! Its sooo obvious and on your face! it bored me to death...

In the end, I cannot give it more than 2.5 stars. The good spots and the rather beautiful imagery do not save the book. The few good plot lines are far too few in between and the imagery monopolizes almost every page of the book. I both feel like I've read a very short book due to its lack of character building and story line, and a long boring book due to its excessive attention to 'world building'.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation