Skip to main content

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black- 5 stars

This book had me worried. I thought: "Another book about vampires, here goes the 'cheese'!..."
I could not have been more wrong! There is nothing cliche about Holly's Black take on vampires.It is so cleverly written and so different than everything else out there. I was happily and gladly surprised!
If you are looking for a romance book (twilight style), look away. There is a little romance here, but not much, just little snippets here and there. Enough to keep you wondering.
The book is described as a "wholly original story of rage and revenge, of guilt and horror, and of love and loathing" (goodreads). The description could not be more accurate!

The main character, Tana, lives in a world very much like ours. Except of-course, there are vampires. Unlike other books with vampires on it however, vampires are neither hidden or taking over the world. The vampires are contained in Coldtowns, modern cities that got infected by vampires and were therefore guarded and blocked from the rest of the world. You can go in, but you are not allowed to get out. The world in which the book is set is very well written and very well described. And because it uses modern towns and locations it is somewhat very vivid in your mind while you read it. You feel a part of the book. Any author that manages to that deserves great praise.
Tana herself has a terrible past of vampire infection in her family and knows the threat of being sent to a coldtown well.
When we first encounter Tana she is like any other teen going to parties, struggling with an ex, etc. But she wakes up after a party very hangover to find everyone at the party dead. Well, almost everyone. And here is where the story gets interesting!
This is a rather dark yet mesmerizing story! Holly Black doesn't shy away from gory scenes but somehow manages to make them sound beautiful at the same time as it is terrifying, She has got an amazing talent for story telling! I honest can't believe I've never read anything of hers before. As soon as I am done with this review I will be adding some of her work to my TBR list.
Tana is through out the book a determined, strong and brave character. But not unafraid. And there is great beauty to that, she becomes a very relatable character fast.
Her rather odd connection to vampire Graviel is very well portrayed. It is not romantic until almost the end of the book, it is thrilling and frightening and exciting all at once. He is one scary powerful vamp!
I really love the way Holly Black portrays Gavriel. He is not a monster and he is not a goody vampire either. He is a badass vamp that has and is still causing bloodshed.  Here is"I would kill everyone in the world....or not, obviously..."
a little snipped (with spoilers cut out):
The twists and turns in the story are not many but enough to keep you on your toes. Enough to have you not wanting to put the book down. I read this whole book (it is not a small book) in 3 sittings. Why sleep when you can read right? haha



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation