Skip to main content

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon - 5 stars!

I'm back!

Sorry guys, I know it has been a while but Christmas Holidays tend to make time disappear! And fast.
My last read of 2016 was The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. It was one of my best decisions to end the year with this book. It is an easy, adorable, sweet read. If you are a fan of Nicola's previous work, Everything Everything, you are certainly going to love this too. A very different story but the same style of writing. It gives you the same warm feelings, pain and joy! Within the very first pages I already knew I was going to love this book as much if not more than Everything Everything!

Seventeen year old Natasha wants to stay in the US with her family and friends, but she is about to be deported. Most of the book takes place on that one day, the day she is to be deported with her family back to Jamaica.
You can feel her pain and distress through out the book. Hers and Daniel's, the other main character in the book. He is the son of immigrants that are in the country legally. 
The book approaches many different themes and subjects, it is not all about love. It deals with suicide, loneliness, race, traditions, loyalty, failure...
That being said, their love story is adorable! But it not super cheesy and overpowering. The best way to describe it is by sharing a little quote from Daniel:

"There is a Japanese phrase that I like: koi noi yokan. It doesn't mean love at first sight. It's closer to love at second sight. It is the feeling when you meet someone that you're going to fall in love with them. Maybe you don't love them right away, but it's inevitable that you will"

There is perspective! 
Their story is not simple. it is complicated, sad, happy, funny, flawed...You will be heartbroken for them and root for them till the very last page.
Okay, it is not necessarily realistic, there are too many coincidences... but I believe those coincidences make it a great story, one of love and faith in love. I believe we all lost a bit of that, it is nice to get a little injection of it through a wonderfully written book.

It was also interesting because of how different and complex the characters are. Natasha believes in science, in logic, and in facts. Not destiny. While Daniel is the exact opposite. He dreams, he writes poetry, and he strongly believes in fate. Their understanding of the universe is well thought out, is well explained and elaborated. They are both complex characters. Intriguing, interesting and lovable on their own way.

I personally cannot find a fault in this book! 5 starts no doubt.

GO READ

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation