Skip to main content

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black- 5 Stars

It has only been a few weeks since I discovered Holly Black, and although my tbr is absolutely huge, I just had to read another book of hers, so I got The Darkest Part of the Forest on my kindle. It did not disappoint.
Holly Black is as amazing writer and can do in one book what takes many writers a whole series to succeed at. The world she created was overwhelmingly well written and it fascinated me from beginning to end. Her style of writing is almost poetic, I felt like reading it aloud to the world. It was so so beautiful. I want to live in a world of faeries and I don't care if they are dangerous provided it is the world Holly Black created! -seriously-
I feel very confident in saying that since reading The Coldest Girl in Coldtown Holly Black has become my favorite stand alone writer! YA fantasy are my favorite kind of books and as far as stand alones go, no one writes better.

Ben and Hazel are siblings leaving in Fairfold, a town were there is a very fragile line between the world of humans and the world of the Fairy folk. They are dangerous and kill for fun. The locals know to stay away from the forest at night, the tourists are not so wise and often some end up dead.
As children, Hazel and Ben believed they were going to one day save the town from the fairies. Off to the forest they would go to slay monsters, Ben with his magical music and Hazel with her sword and unshakable bravery. But, they are still kids, and with time that changed. They start keeping secrets from one another and stop going to the forest at night.
All the while there is a boy with horns in his head in a glass coffin in the forest. He has been there for as long as people can remember. Always sleeping. Nothing and no one can brake through the glass. Ben and Hazel loved the boy as children, and told him all their deepest secrets. Little did they know the boy was listening.
One day the boy wakes up.
That is really all I can say about the book without giving away the plot. A lot happens both before and after the horned boy wakes up. The relationship between the two siblings is beautifully written. They love each other more than anything in this world and the things they do for each other are heartwarming (even if at times they are also a tad stupid!).

Jack and Carter are secondary characters, but of equal importance to the story. Specially Jack, He is a changeling, not human. Carter was kidnapped (swapped) as a child, his mother demanded him back, but also kept Jack. His character was one of my favorites. His relationship with Ben and Hazel is sweet, their friendship is touching.

The book is also action packed! At every page there is something else happening and you really gotta make sure you don't miss anything. I am a big fan of books like that, so this was right up my street! 😉

I cannot wait to dive in
another book by Holly Black. She is truly talented. It is not often that you find a storyteller of her caliber.

GO Read!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation