Skip to main content

The Black Lily (Vampire Blood #1) by Juliette Cross - 4 Stars

Black Lily, Juliette Cross
Hello sunnies! 
I have discovered a new supernatural romance author to love. I am very excited to share my review of this book and I am looking forward to reading the remainder of the series as well.

The blurb:

Cinderella like you’ve never seen before…



With the threat of the vampire monarchy becoming stronger every day, the Black Lily must take drastic measures. As the leader of the underground resistance, Arabelle concocts the perfect idea to gain the attention of the Glass Tower. Her plan? Attend the vampire prince’s blood ball and kill him. Fortunately for Prince Marius, her assassination goes awry, and Arabelle flees, leaving behind only her dagger.



Marius is desperate to find the woman whose kiss turned into attempted murder, hunting for the mysterious assassin he can’t push out of his mind. But what he uncovers could change the course of his life forever…

There is certainly no  damsel in distress in this tale! Arabelle is a strong woman and very sure of herself. She does not doubt she will succeed and she gives her all for what she believes. I loved that about her!
Her plans however don't go quite as planned and worse than that, the prince she planed to kill turns out to be quite different than she expected. 

Although I loved our prince Marius it is Arabelle and her determination that makes the story worthy reading.  Marius is best described as a puppy trying to be all Alpha 😆 Arabelle tries to kill him and he goes off hunting her, not to punish her, but because he must kiss her again. This vampire was bewitched by Arabella from the second he first saw her. 
I just want to cuddle him! LOL 

The secondary characters were really well written as well, something I really appreciate. Juliette did them so well it is Marius best friend Nikolai that was my favorite character in the whole book. I am very excited that the next book focused on his POV.

The world Juliette creates was also phenomenal. The prologue is short and sweet, straight to the point. We get enough of a picture of the world Arabelle is navigating without being bombarded with details. Exquisite work!

I read this book in one sitting and have very little to say about it on the negative. 
I guess the insta-love/insta-lust isn't for everyone, but I didn't mind it at all. 

The Black Lily, Juliette Cross
There is really only one thing I did not like about the book... the cover! I'm sorry Juliette, but it is too cheesy for me... 
I mean... look at it! 🤦

Anyways... if you, like me, love a good supernatural romance, do give this wonderful author a try!

Find the Book:
Amazon
Entangled Publishing
Kobo
B&B - Nook
Juliette Cross

Comments

  1. This sounds so good! I am going to TBR it! If you want a paranormal romance, I would check out WJ May. She has tons. My favorites are Chronicles of Kerrigan and Alpha Queen series!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really enjoyed this. As soon as I am in my new house (I am moving) I will buy and read the rest. I heard of WJ May, she is on my tbr. Someday soon :)

      Delete
  2. This sounds sooooooo good

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b