Skip to main content

Breaking Down by Megan Lowe [arc review]- 3 Stars

Breaking Down, Megan Lowe
Hello Sunnies 😎 I haven't been here for a week, I apologize. I am moving in 3 weeks and life is a little crazy... I will try to be better. Pinky swear! 

So...Do you guys like sport romances?
Breaking Down had me laughing out loud in my leaving room like a crazy person many times. It was a fun read and the romance was sweet; a perfect mixture of comedy and charm. If you are a fan of sports romance I am sure you will like it. 

Here is the Blurb:
When a hot BMX champion butts head with a woman who could kick his arse, it’s only a matter of time before the gloves are off and the heat is on.

What happens when the unexpected flips your world upside down?

That’s the question Jax Ryan must answer when everything he knows and loves is tipped on its head. Adjusting to his new reality is not easy. Throw in the woman of his dreams, who won’t even give him the time of day, and Jax is out of his element.

Bentley La Roche is tough. She’s a fighter, literally. In her spare time, she can be found with the best MMA fighters on the Gold Coast. But she’s guarded and has no interest in getting involved with anyone, especially Jax Ryan.

But when things go from bad to worse for Jax, Bentley’s walls are no match for her desire to help him. Breaking down is easy. It’s the rebuild that’s hard, but so much fun.

First we have Jax, a BMX rider that is really good at what he does. But the book starts with him suffering an accident and having to deal with his injuries. Jax was fun, easy going, while at the same time determined and strong in his convictions. The sort of guy that is cocky on the outside and a total softy on the inside too, I really liked him. And it was interesting reading about someone so independent having to deal with his fears. 
Bentley's character is resilient and has gone trough a lot in life but I can't say I enjoyed her character as much as I enjoyed his. Half of the time she came across as a grown up women trying to deal with her past while supporting the man she is falling for, which was wonderful... and the other half she just came across bitchy and rude. 

My favorite thing in the whole book? The cat. Yes, you read that right, the cat! 
All the scenes involving the darn cat were sweet and hilarious. 

I liked the book in the end, but it had a very rocky start. For the first few pages the story felt poorly written consisting mostly of only very short sentences. That kind of chopped writing always makes me anxious while reading it, it is uncomfortable. But if you can get over that and push through, great book! Go Read!


Find the book at:

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.