Skip to main content

The Bad Luck Bride by Janna MacGregor - 4 Stars


Can you tell I am in a bit of a romance kick this last month or so? 🤣
Don't worry sunnies, my pile of Young Adult Fantasy is still a lot larger than my romance pile, I will get back to it soon. 

In the meantime... Enjoy this beauty!
This was a sweet read. I really enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone that likes a good historical romance. Just don't confuse sweet with funny and light hearted, this is not it. It is heavy and even a tad somber. The romance is super sweet though!!!


The story is both complicated and simple.

Alex wants revenge for his sister's suicide. Claire just happens to be on the wrong place, or rather with the wrong person at the time. 
Alex was an interesting character. Although he is portrayed as a good man he is also portrayed as a lying, scheming, manipulative a** h***. And he truly has both those sides to him. Grief over the lost of his sister made him both.
Falling for his enemies fiance and than marrying her wasn't originally his plan. But once it is done he tries his best to be the best husband he can be. To protect her and care for her. Problem is, against his friend's warnings he does not tell Claire the circumstances that led to their wedding and needless to say things don't end well when she finds out.
He was a multidimensional character and I felt we got to know him really well.
Claire was a tad too passive for me. The whole curse thing was just a matter of 'bad timing' and 'bad luck'. I get it, its a historical romance. That much bad luck in engagements all the way back when would have people calling it a curse, I like that actually, it is entertaining. I just wan't sold on Claire using that as an excuse for everything that went wrong in her life and not fighting it.

Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.