Skip to main content

The Bad Luck Bride by Janna MacGregor - 4 Stars


Can you tell I am in a bit of a romance kick this last month or so? 🤣
Don't worry sunnies, my pile of Young Adult Fantasy is still a lot larger than my romance pile, I will get back to it soon. 

In the meantime... Enjoy this beauty!
This was a sweet read. I really enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone that likes a good historical romance. Just don't confuse sweet with funny and light hearted, this is not it. It is heavy and even a tad somber. The romance is super sweet though!!!


The story is both complicated and simple.

Alex wants revenge for his sister's suicide. Claire just happens to be on the wrong place, or rather with the wrong person at the time. 
Alex was an interesting character. Although he is portrayed as a good man he is also portrayed as a lying, scheming, manipulative a** h***. And he truly has both those sides to him. Grief over the lost of his sister made him both.
Falling for his enemies fiance and than marrying her wasn't originally his plan. But once it is done he tries his best to be the best husband he can be. To protect her and care for her. Problem is, against his friend's warnings he does not tell Claire the circumstances that led to their wedding and needless to say things don't end well when she finds out.
He was a multidimensional character and I felt we got to know him really well.
Claire was a tad too passive for me. The whole curse thing was just a matter of 'bad timing' and 'bad luck'. I get it, its a historical romance. That much bad luck in engagements all the way back when would have people calling it a curse, I like that actually, it is entertaining. I just wan't sold on Claire using that as an excuse for everything that went wrong in her life and not fighting it.

Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b