Skip to main content

Guest author Q&A with Juliette Cross


Hello Sunnies 😎
When was the last time a friend gave you a book recommendation that you know you will be grateful for the rest of your life? For me it was about two weeks ago. As you all know by now I love supernatural romance. So meet Juliette Cross, a fabulous supernatural romance writer that I hope you will all love as much as I now do!

The Black Lily, Juliette Cross
Hi Juliette! I am so glad to have met you and have found your books. Black Lily was a pleasant surprise and I cannot wait to read the other books in the series.

-     When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer?
Thank you so much for having me today. So, I hate to sound cliché, but I always wanted to be a writer. I wrote tons of emo poetry in high school—bad, angsty poetry. Lol. But it led me to writing fiction and majoring/graduating with a degree in Creative Writing from LSU. After many years of teaching and raising kids, I ventured back to writing, drawn to my favorite genre—paranormal/fantasy romance. So here I am. J

-       When you are not writing what genre do you enjoy reading? And do you have a ’go-to’ author?
My favorite genres to read are paranormal/fantasy romance and historical romance. My  go-to authors are Bec McMasters, Elizabeth Hoyt, Nalini Singh, and Kerrigan Byrne. All three write the dark, gritty, and sexy stories that I’m obsessed with.

-       There are a lot of vampire stories out there. What inspired you to write yours?
Funny you should ask. Vampires have ALWAYS been my favorite paranormal creature, but I struggled to find an original storyline that inspired me. There were already a lot of urban vampires on the scene, so I knew I wouldn’t go that route (though I adore UF vamps). It was the day after I saw Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, I was mopping my floor and thinking of Cinderella (yes, I know). And I thought, what if Cinderella went to the ball because she hated the prince and wanted to kill him. And then…what if he was a vampire and the vampire monarchy had oppressed her people. Then finally, what if she were leading a resistance against the vampires? The rest, as they say, is history. ;)

-    What other books do you have coming out this year that we should keep an eye on? Darkest Heart comes out in August 2018 with Entangled Publishing, book 1 in the Dominion series. It’s an apocalyptic urban fantasy romance about a jaded, snarky, and naughty demon anti-hero named Dommiel who is unwillingly partnered with an angel warrior named Anya to seek out and find a missing archangel. Their journey takes them deep into the demon undergrounds on earth where angels and demons are battling it out for dominion.

And for the fun of it…
-      If you were to give a soundtrack to this fun and less than traditional fairy-tale can you think of a song or two that would be on it?
These two DEFINITELY:
·        Castle by Halsey
·        Who Are You? by Svrcina

-    Can you think of actors and actresses you would cast for the main characters in this series? (I saw on a review on Goodreads someone using a picture of Nikolaj Coster-Waldau -Jamie Lanister in GoT- as Nikolai and I swoon! Hehe)

The Black Lily, Juliette Cross
Haha! Yes, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau would be the perfect Nikolai! Here’s the rest of my dream cast:
·        Jonathan Rhys-Myers as Marius,
·        Lily James as Arabelle,
·        Sophie Turner as Sienna
·        Lily Collins as Brennalyn,
·        Douglas Booth as Friedrich,
·        Ryan Reynolds as Grant,
·        Theo James as Mikhail (would need blue vampire contacts like in Underworld)
·        Chloe Grace Moretz as Mina (with platinum blonde hair).

Thank you so much for taking part of this Q&A! I wish you all the luck in this world with this series and every other book you come to write. I am now fir sure a fan!

You’re the best! Thank you so much for having me here today. Wishing all the readers a happily-ever-after. ;)



Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.