Skip to main content

Waking the Dragon (Vale of Stars #1) by Juliette Cross [arc review]

Hello Sunnies!
I have missed my paranormal romance books, so this was a fabulous change of pace. Two days of bliss! 
Waking the Dragon by Juliette Cross was fabulous read and I cannot recommend it enough. There is action, there is romance, there are hot dragon-hybrid males....What is not to love? 😍


You might have read those few sentences before and that is because I reviewed this book a while back. But since Juliette is re-launching the book with a super sexy new cover it is just fair I update the review right?
Yah, I thought you would all agree...

And talking about new covers, here is the beauty:

hot hot hot hot hot



The review: 4.5 Stars

Moira and Kol were likable characters from the start and I will probably have a crush on Kol forever and ever... just saying!  
Moira works hard, is strong minded and goes after what she wants. She is a reporter and is investigating the death of three human women found in Morgon territory and she needs this story to advance in her career. What I liked about her is that she was not some damsel in distress. Moira might have gone a little far sometimes but she always knew what she was doing, she knew the risks, and was clever about all she did. She was not ashamed to ask her brother in law for help. He sends Kol, head of the guard.
Holly hotness! That's Kol.
He is likable for very different reasons. He is serious, quiet, and very confident. It is impossible not to be curious about him and get fond of him as we learn more about him and his family. 
The interactions between Kol and Moira are sizzling. He is a dominant character and she is not one to be dominated. Although in the end... hehe 

Lead the way, Kittycat.”

My mouth dropped. “Excuse me.”
“You heard me .” His voice was a low rumble, mere inches separating us.
“Don’t call me that.”
“Mmm. You sure enjoy judging others. Taciturn. Intimidating. Iceman. But you can’t handle how others see you.”

I clenched my jaw tight.
“Kittycat suits you. Sharp claws, watchful eyes, volatile when cornered.” He flicked my braid over my shoulder. I batted his hand away. His grin made me want to scream . “See what I mean.”


I struggled a little at the beginning but that is simply because I don't read crime fiction all that much and it came across like that for a while. It is a necessary part of the story though and it didn't focus on that alone for long.
All in all a great paranormal romance.

Waking the Dragon, Juliette Cross

And here is the old cover!


 Find the book at:

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation