Skip to main content

Twice Dead (The Necromancer's Song #1) by Caitlin Seal [arc review]

This was such a refreshing Young Adult read. I haven't been reading much YA lately because I got tired of the same story been told again and again, so when I read the blurb for Twice Dead a few months ago I was excited. And it did not disappoint! 



Twice Dead, Caitlin Seal
The blurb:
Naya, the daughter of a sea merchant captain, nervously undertakes her first solo trading mission in the necromancer-friendly country bordering her homeland of Talmir. Unfortunately, she never even makes it to the meeting. She's struck down in the streets of Ceramor. Murdered.

But death is not the end for Naya. She awakens to realize she's become an abomination--a wraith, a ghostly creature bound by runes to the bones of her former corpse. She's been resurrected in order to become a spy for her country. Reluctantly, she assumes the face and persona of a servant girl named Blue.

She never intended to become embroiled in political plots, kidnapping, and murder. Or to fall in love with the young man and former necromancer she is destined to betray.
 



4 Stars

I really liked the main characters, they all had a special part to play for the story to work. 
Naya has been told her whole life that the undead and wraiths are abominations, things that should not exist. So when she wakes up one it takes some getting used to. But for her father and her home she does, she is important for their plans and is determined to help.
What she didn't count on is finding out that maybe wraiths are not as bad as her father believes or on falling in love for one.

The plot progressed at a good pace and it unfolded well. There was plenty of action, plot twists, political turmoil, and sweet moments. It was in many ways a typical YA: easy to read, some childish behavior, some growing up for the main characters, sometimes a little predictable... But story concept was unique! YA books focusing on necromancy are far in between and this one had an original take to it, it was refreshing.  

And of-course I love a good romance. Corten, Naya's love interest was absolutely adorable. Their slow burn romance was perfect, friends first, more later. I very much look forward to finding out what will happen to him (if anything) next, that ending was heartbreaking! 

Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation